Why a College Education is Important

Great article by Robin Lloyd on why a college education is important.

29 Responses to “Why a College Education is Important”


  1. 1 Econ Deliberation January 25, 2009 at 1:29 AM

    In order to move up in my financial situation I need a degree. I have lots of work experience but no college degree. I find it hard to find a job that will pay me more because I have reached the ceiling with nowhere to go. This article is correct you need a college degree. As a full-time college student, I work two jobs one for the money and the other as a student worker to gain experience while I am earning my degree. You must work while you are in college and gain some experience in your field even if you are not paid that much. By the time you graduate you will have the work experience to get your foot in the door.

  2. 2 colinjross January 26, 2009 at 1:17 AM

    This maybe a UK orientated comment but our economy is likely to suffer in future from the number of young people saddled with enormous debt in early life to obtain a degree in a subject the economy doesn’t need.

    If government funding was routed through employers who would also sponsor students offering them an internship at the same time, students (many of those from poorer backgrounds are not well advised) would be channelled into courses that will lead to work.

  3. 3 quiche January 28, 2009 at 9:51 PM

    College education is important because you need a degree in order to get a good job or a stable career. Without a good job or career you wont be able to support yourself or to build a family one day in this cruel economy. College education shows that you have motivation to succeed in life.

  4. 4 quiche January 28, 2009 at 9:57 PM

    College education is important because without a degree you cant get a good job or a good career. Without a career or a good job you will not able to support yourself or build a family financially and to struggle in this cruel economy. Having a degree shows that you have the motivation to succeed in life.

  5. 5 bhumika January 29, 2009 at 8:59 AM

    college education is important because you dont want to flip burgers for rest of your life in fastfood restaurants in other words you can get respectable job with higher salaries.Once you get your degree nobady can take that knowledge away from you, may be you can loose your money or proparty but only education will be with you rest of your life.

  6. 6 Osvaldo Trejo January 29, 2009 at 2:39 PM

    A college education is very important because it gives you a lot of opportunities to get a good, stable job which is tough to have right now due to our economic situation. I know that having an education doesn’t guarentee success, but it definetly gives you an edge over somebody applying for the same position without a degree.

  7. 7 Nancy Moussa January 29, 2009 at 4:09 PM

    I think that having a college education is really important because without it you would have a really hard time trying to find a job. If there were two people applying for a job and only one had a college degree, most likely the person with the degree will get the job. Having a degree shows that you have dedication and are willing to do whatever it takes to get a job done.

  8. 8 dionicio arechiga March 19, 2009 at 10:24 PM

    education is important because it gives you choices in life and with a degree you are more likly to make more money and enjoy life.

  9. 9 quique March 19, 2009 at 10:59 PM

    college education essentially is the key to success in the future. It opens many doors of opportunity and allows us to explore every option available.

  10. 10 Pat Kolcum May 11, 2009 at 12:18 AM

    I’ll agree that it is vital to have a degree in todays world in order to get a good job and make a decent living. However it is my feeling that only getting a degree is not sufficient with many peoples spending habits. If being financially stable was as simple as getting a good job then there wouldn’t be such a large amount of people in debt. What it really comes down to, is people not being able to manage money based on their income. It seems the more money people make the more they feel they can spend putting them deeper in debt. So while a degree and education is great, having financial management is a necessity for ones success.

  11. 11 B's May 15, 2009 at 9:21 PM

    With today’s economy the work force is becoming more competitive and employees need every advantage possible to get ahead. A big factor is a college education. You can see in the numbers that those who have a college education make more money then those who do not have one. So its important to get a college education to get a good job that pays good money. Also with a college education there will be many more opportunities in life then there would be for someone with out the college education.

  12. 12 Carl Hernandez May 22, 2009 at 1:42 PM

    College education is important now than ever before because of the cruel economy and unemployment rising drastically. without having any education or a degree in anything makes it much harder finding a stable job or career. Even people graduating from the finest colleges such as Cal Berkeley or UC Davis are yet to find a stable job or even finding a job amongst there major. this goes to show you without any education it is going to be a lot harder to find something.

  13. 13 T May 25, 2009 at 6:50 PM

    A college education is a great tool to have in your belt besides the knowledge learned it shows determination and work ethic. Personally my view on college is that the people you network with and meet in college can be more influential and valuable than the degree itself.

  14. 14 Hailey July 9, 2009 at 9:42 AM

    First hand I can completely agree that college education is a key to moving forward. I have decided to take a bit longer to finish my bachelor’s than I had expected when I first went to college, but I feel that the time I have taken in order to pay for it myself by getting a job, has helped me learn far more about the value of an education than I would have by finishing in just four years. I have a fantastic job that I work very hard at, the family I work for sees my potential but insists that I finish school, in order for the company to be secure in my abilities, and for my personal security. The fact that they value my future as much as I do, makes it seem all the more important for me to work hard now so that it can work equally as hard for me in my future. With the completion of my bachelors I have been promised a secure position with this company that is suited to my best abilities, this is an amazing sense of assurement that education is important. Also the fact that just completing a task says so much about ones character is a fantastic thing about finishing your education.

  15. 15 Wen-Li Chan July 30, 2009 at 5:08 PM

    I think college is also a training of keeping the commitment. College education is a little different than high school education. College students are a lot more independent than high school students. I think it is also a training of self-discipline which is crucial in the career world. Nobody would treat you like a high school student in a company.

  16. 16 Tiffany Molinar September 26, 2009 at 10:05 AM

    I have always believed that college is a way to put you ahead of the crowd. Nowadays, I feel like everyone is getting degrees, so what will set you apart from the next person who has the same degree as you, I think it really comes down to experience and knowledge, and the drive to learn. I am all for college and think that it is so important for everyone to have an education past high-school. But in our economy it makes it so hard. Now that they are they raising the prices of school, it’s making it that much harder for people to go to school. They do give loans and help people out with financial aid, but once people do get their degrees they have to spend years and years paying back the loans they borrowed, and that degree they’re getting isn’t guaranteeing them a job once they finish. I know I sound like I’m against college, but it’s not that way at all, it’s just so frustrating knowing that once I do finish school and start my career I’m going to have to spend a lot of time paying it all back.

  17. 17 Angela October 18, 2009 at 1:22 PM

    I believe in higher education, and even if you have to get a loan to pay your college, it will pay off. It is importat to mention that is not only the degree what it will make you succeed,you need to have the hability to turn your job into a carreer and grow in it.

  18. 18 selduhhh October 19, 2009 at 4:10 PM

    The more knowledge one knows the better, so I believe that higher education will always be better, what I don’t like is the higher education is always books, where the real experience? I’m always being told that no matter what degree you get, your job isn’t most likely not going to be like what you’re learning.

    One thing that always amazes me is that, to become the president of the United States, you don’t need a degree in anything, you don’t even need to go to school.

  19. 19 Remy Smith-Lewis November 1, 2009 at 6:20 PM

    I feel a college ed is the most importat thing there is wth out u well be subpar to what it takes to make it in the USA, I think we need to teach this to more of are youth that college is the key to success and that we all can not be hoop stars

  20. 20 Robert Rey, Econ 100 November 1, 2009 at 11:10 PM

    The article eases some of my anxieties about college. Despite the very stressful road I’ll be going through in the next couple of years, it gives hope that it will really be worth it.
    I guess it’s good I at least have a couple of Associate Degrees under my belt. Some people are not as fortunate to get that far, or are even motivated to get it. It roughly represents a halfway point towards a college degree, about two years. The only thing to worry about now is the workload and the raising tuition costs per semester/quarter.

    When it’s all over, though, I don’t know if I’ll be motivated to spend some more time in school to gain some extra skills. Robin Lloyd is right when he says it opens up additional opportunities, but I’m not ready to think that competitively about getting a job in any field.

  21. 21 Amanda Chow November 20, 2009 at 2:09 PM

    College education is very important because it will make a person more competitive in the job force later on. There have even been plenty of surveys and statistics that show an individual with a college degree makes more money on average than an individual with a high school degree. In general any education is good, but i think of the concept…the price you pay is the price you get. I believe that with degrees too. If you have more and higher education than your knowledge is more advanced for the future.

  22. 22 Karla Martinez November 23, 2009 at 9:22 AM

    I definitely agree with this article in that nowadays college is a pre-requisite to getting a good job. I have heard of many college graduates that don’t necessarily work in the same field as the one that they majored in, but it did help them get their current job. I have also heard from a graduate student that the best time to be in school is during a recession, that way when you graduate the economy is hopefully starting to pick up again and is therefore easier to find a job. My parents have always instilled in me the belief that without a college degree you are not ever going to have a real shot at a high paying job, and it is good to read this article as re-validation.

  23. 23 Anthony Vetere November 25, 2009 at 10:26 AM

    College is defently a key to success.It shows intiative,motivation determination and will even lead into accelleration. No one can take knowledge away from you.Once you conceal that under your belt it is time to whoop some ass There are alot of successful people without college eduacation but if something would happen that they lost there job.You think they would have a back up plan? Maybe some but not all. If you have a college eduaction you will encounter something you would feel comfortable doing. It is also sets a GOOD example for you’r children. Im pretty sure you don’t want your children growing up breaking their back to make a descent living. Generally speaking. Oh yeah if you go to college I recommend to take computer classes to avoid typing mistakes like me lol.

  24. 24 dlilpanama December 8, 2009 at 9:09 AM

    college education is important for many reasons. its good to be educated in the world for one. to know a lot and be able to do a lot to help out is a good thing. if your educated you could work at a lot of places with no problem. college education shows that you can start somthing and finish it. ok being college educated lets you get good jobs, get to know more on how the world works, be able to say you went to college, youll make a lot more money, itll be easyer to keep up with technology, it just opens up a lot more doors a lot more choices in life.

  25. 25 courtney b December 10, 2009 at 1:09 PM

    Getting a college education is crucial these days. Especially in this recession, it is very difficult to attain a decent job without a good degree. However, it’s not just any degree that will get you far. Obviously other degrees depending on what they are will provide more assurance of achieving a stable career. For instance, science is a very sought after field. We will always need more promising scientists to lead the future of technology. The medical industry is always a good choice because we are constantly in need of new cures for so many diseases out there. But generally speaking, if you have any college degree, you’ll have an extra boost.

  26. 26 Tiffany Molinar December 16, 2009 at 5:08 PM

    For the most part it looks like peoples’ ideas of college are relatively similar across the board. With the economy the way it is, and no idea of when it is going to get better I think everyone realizes how important it is to have a college education. It’s sad for the people who don’t have college educations because some of them don’t have the chance to get a good job, but I guess that’s the way things are nowadays.

  27. 27 Nathan Couch December 17, 2009 at 1:34 PM

    The way I look at education is that it’s a lifelong process, not something you “get” just to fufill a need, be it a job or some direction. Although that is the main motivation for most goals, the point is to look at it as though your education never ends. That’s how you become truly successful in life.

    For me, as long as I’m not doing a job that I hold a lot of passion for that feels like I was meant for it then I will be furthering my education and college is just one medium. A college degree is now the status quo for most job requirements nowadays, well good ones at least. Unless you can obtain certifications that are just as valuable in your field then I think one should always be taking some sort of education class.

  28. 28 E. Nichols February 4, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    Education has always been the way to go,but what about the individual who has a two yr degree and has not completed the last year. Has a great job ,is at the top of his job but at the age of 60 yrs of age and is about to retire. What part does education play for that individal. I have no desire to work again.I do know that I would have the time and space to complete my last year and to finally complete the one thing that I did not complete. It is the start and finish.

  29. 29 Matt Cardoza March 14, 2010 at 3:29 PM

    Someone who graduates with even a four year degree is not going to make a high amount of annual income, or at least in the business world. Yes, it was reasonable for people in past generations to get away with the minimal amount of education or not even graduating or attending college, but todays society does not allow for it.


Leave a Reply

