Is Facebook Bad for Your Grades?

Looks like Facebook may be hurting your grades:

Facebook users typically ranged a full grade lower than those of nonusers — 3.0 to 3.5 for users versus 3.5 to 4.0 for their non-networking peers.

From an economic standpoint, it makes sense. Time is limited, if you spend less time studying because you are using Facebook, your grades should go down. I wonder if teachers on Facebook are less effective than those not on Facebook?

96 Responses to “Is Facebook Bad for Your Grades?”


  1. 1 wallacej April 14, 2009 at 9:52 AM

    I agree with Karpinski when she says that it isn’t a surprised by her findings, but notes that the study does not suggest Facebook directly causes lower grades, merely that there’s some relationship between the two factors. “Maybe [Facebook users] are just prone to distraction. Maybe they are just procrastinators,” I believe there is a relationship between these two factors as facebook distracts us from doing our work. Instead of getting on to your computer and doing your homework you get sidetracked and log on to facebook. You push your homework aside. Facebook is a distraction that leads you away from studying or doing your homework.

  2. 2 Heidi11 April 14, 2009 at 7:49 PM

    I can attest to the relationship between time spent on Facebook and time spent on studying. I gave up Facebook for Lent, and I noticed that when I was bored and had nothing else to do and would usually log on to Facebook, I did schoolwork instead. It is very clear to me how Facebook would negatively influence grades by indirectly causing you to spend less time on schoolwork. However, Facebook is likely not the only thing that has this effect. Too much TV, napping, or video games would negatively influence grades in the same way, I would imagine.

  3. 3 Jordon Lovett April 14, 2009 at 11:04 PM

    I think this claim is pretty bizarre. How can using a networking website appeal to those who have lower GPAs? It seems that actually using facebook would take some type of intelligence and may appeal to people who communicate more. This would lead me to believe that smarter people would use it more. For me, I use facebook while I do homework, watch TV, and listen to music. I also access facebook from my phone when I’m bored and I don’t see how using this and multitasking could be for people who generally have lower GPAs.

  4. 4 SMCecon April 15, 2009 at 8:55 AM

    Time is often a scarce resource and if students must allocate their time between facebook and studying I am not surprised that grades are lower by facebook users. I think a lot of this has to do with procrastination, and facebook is an entertaining method of procrastination. It would be interesting to do a study that also incorporates other top forms of procrastination including napping and tv. I would not necessary say that facebook causes procrastination. I am more inclined to state that procrastination methods such as facebook contribute to lower grades.

  5. 5 Andrea Nemeth April 15, 2009 at 11:16 AM

    I agree with this artical. I think that people are really easily distracted. Adding a place where people feel the need to update their page every few minutes takes away the time they should be using to study. its more enjoyable then studying so they tend to spend more time talking on facebook then worrying about their homework. i think the same thing applies for teachers. Facebook allows for easy communication.. and the oppertunitiy cost is far greater for them to focus on their work then relax and tallk to friends.

  6. 6 B's April 15, 2009 at 8:54 PM

    I agree with the argument that is presented. Most students probably don’t even realize the effects that it has on them because they are use to having these distractions around them all the time. We have become so addicted to these networks like facebook that even when we are not around a computer we constantly are checking it from cell phones and other mobile devices. Also I can say from a first hand experience that when I go to sit down and do homework I find myself spending more time then anticipated on facebook. If I check facebook I find myself becoming more distracted and what was meant to be a quick check turns into a 30 minute ordeal. Also with the new ways to communicate on facebook such as being able to chat with friends I find myself spending even more time on facebook and I know others who do the same. So even if we do not see the effects right away its obvious that facebook takes up time and time is scarce. This time should be devoted to studying but since its being taken away by these networks, it affects students’ grades.

  7. 7 jenna s April 15, 2009 at 9:26 PM

    I have found this to be true among me and my friends. Those who spend all their time on facebook due tend to earn lower grades. This is because they have evaluated their opportunities costs. They with 1 hour, one could be doing homework or facebooking. Many people choose to facebook. Perhaps they feel is a better use of their time. I believe that this is partially due to the addictive nature of social networks. Facebook’s new feeds allows students to follow all their friends’ facebook activity. Many people spend the time to look through these, and by the time they know it, they have spent 2 hours on the site. I due think facebook has taken a toll on students’ productivity.

  8. 8 alarics April 16, 2009 at 8:19 AM

    I don’t think facebook is bad for your grades at all. Well, it depends on the type of person you are, and how your habits treat you at school. Like for me, I’m a business minded person with the heart of a younger person. Everything that I do either revolves around business or has something to do with my lifestyle. Even my terminology is something that helps me do better in school. Facebook is only bad for your grades if you don’t study, you lag on time and resources for your classes and if you need something to do while the teacher is lecturing. I’m a little unsure as to why anyone would think that facebook would determine the cause of your grades to increase or decrease.

  9. 9 Kelli C April 19, 2009 at 10:48 PM

    I think facebook definitely affects grades, at least for me. When I am bored or tired of doing homework, I go on facebook. Its addictive, and time passes by very quickly. I spend too much time on facebook that I could be using to study or doing other more productive activities. But even though I know facebook affects my grades, I don’t believe it is any worse than someone who plays hours of video games a day or watches a lot of TV like the article mentioned. How facebook affects students’ grades, definitely depends on the person you are and how much time you feel you need to be on it, but for the most part I think if their were no online social networks, people’s grades would improve.

  10. 10 Linda Villasenor April 20, 2009 at 12:41 PM

    I think that it does affect your grades but only when you can’t control how much time you spend on it. I don’t usually go on Facebook unless I get an email saying that I have received a new message or comment. I like watching TV and Facebook can be like watching TV because they are both entertaining and before you know it the time has gone by really fast. For those who use Facebook a lot then it can affect their grades because it takes away study time. It is also tempting to chat online with friends only if you do say you’ll be on for only a minute then that minute turns into an hour.

  11. 11 Noe Pate April 21, 2009 at 1:24 AM

    As a self-professed and recovering luddite any excess use of technology is puzzling to me. Its amazing the peer pressure that is added to the already tempting diversion of the internet. I just got a facebook page a week ago and I dont like the little quips about never being on. It just doesnt appeal to me. I think that the concept of boredom was a main point in marketing diverting technology. From video games to texting to chatting on the internet I think that like everyhing this usage should be balanced. I also think that facebook has the unique position of attracting all maturity levels so it sucks people; instead of it being a phase its a perpetuation that nobody really grows out of. My 92 year old grandmother has a facebook. I think homework will only trump facebook when the student realizes that facebook doesnt hand out degrees.

  12. 12 Tim Honeycutt April 21, 2009 at 6:45 PM

    I think that this information is accurate but it nothing to get worries about. Kids that are on facebook when they should be studying has nothing to do with facebook. The kids choose how to spend their time and if they don’t want great grades than so be it. There is no reason to do anyhting with this situation; it is mearly something to ponder on a personal level.

  13. 13 Hannibal April 21, 2009 at 10:13 PM

    I definitely think this article is true. Facebook is always going to be there but it’s not like you have the chance to make up grades so easily. Facebook is such a distraction. There have been countless times where I come on, start talking to people and have wasted 2 entire hours. I don’t think something should necessarily happen, it’s not against the law to procrastinate, there are plenty of other distractions but Facebook happens to be one of them.

  14. 14 Melissa Schmitt April 22, 2009 at 10:57 AM

    i find that the people that spend a lot of time on facebook who are constantly using it and checking have lowered their grades. There are some people who have facebook accounts and grades are very high. I think that it really depends on how often the people are. When it comes to the teachers being on facebook, i don’t think that them having an account makes a huge difference. It is another way to communicate with the professor for questions and explanations but there are many other ways to communicate. I personally don’t talk to any of my professors through facebook so i can not compare it but it does not seem that much more effective. I think that anyone that takes the time with another activity. I have a friend that is constantly making videos and taking to other people. He pretty much cant do a thing without informing the facebook world and his grades have significantly been affected but that is because of his obsession. The affect on your grades depends on the level the person dedicates to the hobby.

  15. 15 NicoleMB April 22, 2009 at 12:16 PM

    I think it makes complete sense. And also I think the student, Kamin, who was so quick to get defensive about these findings may not realize that the study isn’t saying that only stupid people join Facebook but rather that students who have access to facebook obviously have something that can cause a distraction. Of course there are a lot of things in our lives that can distract us from studying, not just Facebook. I know for myself I choose not to join in any online social networks for many reasons. First of all it just seems like that’s a whole lot of personal information to have on the internet but also I know myself well enough to know that if I could just go online (on my phone at all times) and read about people or just zone out on anything, I probably would and that would take time away from the things I need to get done. BUT I think that relates to the findings of this study… I feel like it’s about being responsible. Of course people could probably use Facebook moderately but I don’t think many people do and that’s a conscious choice to make.

  16. 16 Claudio M Ramirez April 22, 2009 at 3:12 PM

    I guess to an extent I would have to agree with this article and this study about facebook because just like myspace in todays youth, it seems to be an addiction and has turned into a neccesity for people and even worse for college students. But at the same time thats nobody’s fault but themselves because people make that choice to be on facebook 24/7. I have have to agree that facebook is a great way to network but over abusing it could be unhealthy and effect students acedemic grades.

  17. 17 Brandon Ruegsegger Macro ECON (M,W,F) April 22, 2009 at 5:27 PM

    As we learned in the first chapter of macro economics: people face trade-offs. There’s definitely a trade-off between doing your homework and spending time surfing on facebook or other social networking sites; so it makes sense that nonusers of facebook achieve higher GPA’s. The fact that a lot of homework today is on the computer also serves as a distraction because facebook is readily accessible through any computer. Personally, I got rid of my facebook for this very reason amongst others. Without doubt, I see an improvement in concentration in my studies without the accessibility of facebook.

  18. 18 Christiana DeJournett April 22, 2009 at 6:57 PM

    This is too funny, people seriously neglect their responsibilities to socialize online. I am lucky if I get to check my email on a daily basis, let alone hang out on an online social network. This seems to me to be similar to kids texting in during high school class or hanging out on Myspace instead of doing homework. All a little juvinile it seems.

  19. 19 NK April 22, 2009 at 9:20 PM

    I think this is pretty silly to blame a website for bad grades. Everyone should hopefully know how to manage their time well enough that they don’t let talking to their friends online lower their grades. I think if people manage their time right and finish school work before cracking out on facebook its not an issue at all. I think it all comes down to a persons priorities pass school or go on facebook?

  20. 20 Genine Lobo April 22, 2009 at 10:39 PM

    Although many students do get distracted by Facebook, it is still the students who are at fault. Facebook is not far different than television. If students watch television excessively, they consequently will spend less time studying and their grades will drop. It was also interesting reading that “79% of Facebook members did not believe there was any link between their GPA and their networking habits.” If students spend too much time on Facebook, they should accept the fact that their grades will most likely drop. Even though Facebook may be addicting , it is important for these students to realize that their grades will be affected.

  21. 21 Michael DeBoer St. Mary's April 22, 2009 at 11:26 PM

    I believe facebook to be a distraction from homework, but at the same time I use facebook to contact others regaurding homework. I believe the majority of facebook users are those who need to be up to date with whats going on in their social life, which leads me to believe that those who are more interested with their social life are those who are earning a lower gpa in their acedemic career. but those who are not “obsessed” with facebook are the ones who are doing better in school but at the same time failing their social life (which helps most with their gpa believe it or not). It is hard to take a side on whether those who facebook and those who dont have a higher gpa.

  22. 22 Debbie April 23, 2009 at 9:54 AM

    Although it is definetly a nice way to keep in touch with people, I see that it can take away time from other more important things. I have a facebook page, and I am hardly on it, because of time constraints. I see all the postings and I always wondered how do people spend so much time on these websites. Therefore, can we blame Facebook? I believe not. Facebook, like the internet is there for the use of all, it is up to us to decide what we want to do with our time. As students we need to decide where our time is best spent…on line or studying and getting better grades. Like everything else in life….TRADE OFF!!!

  23. 23 LEONARDO SANCHEZ April 23, 2009 at 1:40 PM

    Facebok Bad for GPA?

    Hello,

    I believe social networking site actually improve communications with student to student. If facebook actually hurts us as students in our GPA then Myspace, telephones, and texting also hurts our GPA. The reason why is that there distractions e that we dont need in life in general. If were concetrating on social networks part of life then that part of our time we wont use to study or creat study groups. Im not a facebook fan so i should have better grades than actual facebook fans? Not the case, it is all how you spend your time in a day. Use all the time for internet then feel free but one must see that there things we dont need in life.

  24. 24 Andrew Curry April 23, 2009 at 5:12 PM

    ha I defenitly can see a direct correlation between facebook usage and lower grades. I know I go on facebook all the time to procrastinate studying and to procrastinate doing homework. i was actually on before I started writing this blog. I wonder how much better id do in school if i never had a Facebook or MySpace.

  25. 25 Marilyn Monroe April 24, 2009 at 8:58 AM

    Not only is Facebook to blame for lowering grades but any form of entertainment that does not involve school or studying is also to blame for the decrease in GPAs. It is ridiculous to solely blame a website for lowering grades. Obviously if students are spending more time doing other things then study, it doesn’t take a brain surgeon to realize that there will be some kind of effects on their grades. People need to stop wasting their time by updating their webpage, commenting, or putting up new photos every five seconds. Maybe it is better to say that addicted users of Myspace or Facebook lack social skills because they need a computer to socialize with people.

  26. 26 Nancy Moussa April 26, 2009 at 3:29 PM

    I totally agree with this article. Facebook has taken over soo many peoples lives. It’s okay to go on and chat, but when people spend all their time on it, it can easily hurt their grades. It’s up to the users to decide whats more important school, or facebook status.

  27. 27 Annmarie Minite April 27, 2009 at 10:06 AM

    I also agree with this site, facebook is a constant distraction for many students. I personally can admit to being distracted by it, especially when you should be studying. It is a great thing to take your mind off of what you need to be doing. At the same rate, it would be hard for me to delete it. A more legitimate reason to delete facebook would be because of interviewing. I haven’t seen the full affects of facebook changing my grades.

  28. 28 jordan April 27, 2009 at 2:54 PM

    I found this article both interesting and funny. I do agree that there might be a correlation between lower grades and the time spent on Facebook. I also believe that you can only take the so far. I think anyone who is spending time on Facebook instead of homework is just as likely to spend time on anything else BUT homework. It is more the temptation of the social aspects, as well as our tendency to be easily distracted and willing to put assignments off until the last minute. If it weren’t Facebook, it would be something else. So to say that there is anything in particular with Facebook that is causing lower grades would be a little extreme, but I do agree that temptation and distraction will always play a big part in procrastination.

  29. 29 mrrodenas April 27, 2009 at 8:04 PM

    I do not get the big fuss about this article…I think it is quite clear to all of us that Facebook has been added to the list of distracting activities/habits that might interfere with real life (that is, presential experiences) responsibilities or duties. Yes, Facebook is a pastime, like anything else, food, TV, videogames, knitting, it could could become an obsession. Well, tale control of your life! Measure the opportunity cost of spending time on Facebook and being superultraconnected versus doing your homework -it’s about personal responsability, an old, old topic. Now, what would intrigue me personally, and from the Developmental Psychology point of view, is what does Facebook feed those obsessed with it? What kind of reward deserves such a big price (like flunking out of school)?

  30. 30 Ally S. April 28, 2009 at 11:56 PM

    According to a study by doctoral candidate Aryan Karpinski and her co-author Adam Duberstien, students who used this popular social network, had significantly lower grade-point averages than those who did not. Specifically, this study found that the GPA’s of facebook users were a whole grade point lower than those of nonusers. For instance, the typical GPA for users is 3.0 – 3.5 versus nonusers, which is 3.5 to 4.0. Like Karpinski, this data was not too surprising. This is because; being that I have a facebook account I could see how ones GPA could suffer. I often find myself logging onto facebook and chatting it up with friends instead of spending that time working on homework.

  31. 31 Tom Jones April 29, 2009 at 1:36 PM

    I believe that if you spend a substantial amount of time then yes your grades will be a full grade lower because majority of your time is put towards Facebook. As well, you could watch tv for as much time as you are on facebook and that to would render your grades. I think that teachers that use Facebook are not less effective because they are not continously on it and do not rely on it during class. Students can only hurt themselves by staying on Facebook or any other program, because it takes away time from there studies.

  32. 32 lalves May 3, 2009 at 7:43 AM

    This article doesn’t suprise me at all because people give up a lot of valuable time to be on facebook. The opportunity cost for most students of being on facebook is doing homework or studying. So it is obvious that it would follow students who use facebook have lower grades than those that don’t. I don’t think that facebook is a bad thing, but people must learn how to balance their time and be efficient in order to prosper the most in school.

  33. 33 wordtown May 4, 2009 at 10:17 AM

    Facebook and other sites like this do take time off your hands. I don’t think we can blame such websites for students not getting grades they should be getting. Everyone is responsible for their own time and their own grades. Other things such as sports take time for people to do, but yet people still manage to balance school and sports. It’s up to the individual to make sure they’re on top of their school work.

  34. 34 Emily Bonzi May 4, 2009 at 2:19 PM

    Sadly, I agree with facebook being bad for your grades. However, it is not solely facebook that is detrimental to a students gpa. The internet provides a plethera of procastination avenues that prevent papers from being written until one in the morning the day before they are due. I see the difference in my work; when I write a paper three or four days in advance that allows me to have time to edit and make my work clear and cohesive. When I piece together a sloppy paper after a night on Youtube, facebook, and surfing the web, usually my papers are an avoidable embarresment filled with sloppy errors and typos.

  35. 35 Alex Bryant/Econ101 May 5, 2009 at 8:06 AM

    I don’t think teachers on Facebook don’t teach as well. It has nothing to do with facebook, it’s the person on facebook. If someone doesn’t want to study, their not going to study, regardless of what they do do. Therefore, a teacher who knows what they must do to teach will do it. Besides, that’s why they are a teacher, its not like they get payed the big bucks.

  36. 36 Nikolas Bunton May 5, 2009 at 11:45 AM

    Personally, i can say that Facebook has lowered my grade in some sense. Whenever i’m doing homework, i have another tab open with facebook on. People contacting you through it is a constant thing, and it’s hard to concentrate on the matter at hand when your best friend is trying to facebook chat you. Speaking of which….

  37. 37 Euan Brown May 5, 2009 at 12:50 PM

    I think when looking at this the statistics may be a little misleading. firstly saying that kids who use facebook get a lower grade may not be true at all. It simply depends on the amount of time that is spent on the website. On he other hand i agree that facebook may be a distraction to many kids and may lower the time that they study. I think kids in college have to make there own decisions about how to spend their time and should be mature enough to realise if facebook is affecting there grades.

  38. 38 Luis A. May 5, 2009 at 5:02 PM

    i can’t believe this article wasn’t released earlier. I am a user of facebook, but never really go on it. I have friends who in class lectured open their computers and log into facebook. then they wonder why they are failing the class. Facebook is a way of communicating with friends, but some people get distracted and are sadly consumed by it. Facebook is a distracting tool for students, but their grades don’t affect me.

  39. 39 Hyo Chul Kim May 6, 2009 at 1:01 AM

    I also strongly agree on this article,
    Often students when they are doing the work with computer,
    they get distracts by facebook, and causing their G.P.A
    go lower, so I would say that definitely Facebook affects
    on student’s grades go down.

  40. 40 Kelsey Ryan May 6, 2009 at 12:03 PM

    I would like to blame Facebook for my test grades lowering. However, i don’t think this is true for everyone. People could have just as easily blamed myspace when that was the more popular networking engine. It really just depends on the individule who calculates whether they want to spend their leisure time studying or on facebook.

  41. 41 Kelsey Ryan May 6, 2009 at 12:05 PM

    I would like to blame Facebook for my test grades lowering. However, i don’t think this is true for everyone. People could have just as easily blamed myspace when that was the more popular networking engine. It really just depends on the individual who calculates whether they want to spend their leisure time studying or on facebook.

  42. 42 Santi Orona May 9, 2009 at 9:21 AM

    I can see how spending time on “The Book” can take away time from studying. However, I think it depends on the person. If a student doesn’t want to finish work, Facebook is just another avenue to waste time. It could be watching television, sleeping, or listening to music. I know many kids who are on Facebook constantly, who have good gpas. If someone is motivated and focused, they will know how to manage their time.

  43. 43 Jay Surface May 9, 2009 at 3:45 PM

    I think this is a true statement. From an economy standpoint spending more time on something will cause something else to fall. Studying has always been something most students try and put off until the last minute, but now with facebook in the mix it gives people another way to waste their time instead of doing something that affects your future. It also comes down to the person. Some people know how to belance their time well, but others do not. Those who do not have their grades suffer because they believe posting pictures of how trashed they were on Saturday night is more important than getting an A on their midterm.

  44. 44 phanh May 11, 2009 at 10:59 AM

    everyone has a choose and they chose to go on facebook or other websites before doing homework or studying and you cant say its the websites that is making their grade bad when it’s the students that is the one that want to go to the sites when they dont have to they get to pick what they want to do to go on the sites or do hw but at the same it if they didnt have sites like this than they wouldnt have to worry about anything beside hw

  45. 45 Audrey Hepburn May 11, 2009 at 3:55 PM

    I don’t think it is facebook that is lowering people’s GPA. Facebook can be distracting but just because you have one does not mean you have a low GPA. People tend to go on facebook because they are bored or procrastinating but people do get their work done it just might have taken longer or not as good sometimes but not always. College students shouldn’t be affected as much as a middle school or high school student. By the time you get to college, people usually know how to manage their time. Parents should just make sure their children homework is done before using the computer. So having a facebook is not the reason for lower grades, its time management.

  46. 46 Andrew May 11, 2009 at 9:09 PM

    I think that in some part, the website offers too much but on the other hands, you have to choose to goof off. I have gotten lost in the number applications and grouping circles when i was first tried to set one up. I think there is some inherit blame in facebook (by having so much available which gives off so much temptation) but it basically comes down to whether or not students can just focus on their studies rather than their social circles.

  47. 47 Tracy Thomas May 12, 2009 at 12:02 PM

    That makes perfect sense to me. I can think of countless occations when I was on the computer to do homework or research and then stopped to check my facebook. By the time I realized it i had spent hours looking through pictures and networking with friends. I had cut down my studing time because I was mindlessly looking through friends pages. Time is money and facebook can easily turn into a waste of time if you let it. The key here I think is to not get to carried away. To set a side a certain time limit and time frame to your facebook adventures!!!!

  48. 48 Rachel Sturm May 12, 2009 at 10:03 PM

    It is interesting that this comment has been made. I am a Facebook user, yet I maintain my grades. Facebook is there for the ability to stay in contact with friends and family. I even use facebook for homework purposes. I find that facebook allows people to stay in contact but it can be distracting if you use all the applications it makes availibe. If used for strickly a comunication purpose, there is no reason why grades and school work should suffer. We must just learn that there is a time and place for facebook, and a time were we need to get off and go to work. Its more an issue of time management. Facebook is just one distraction, if it isnt facebook, then it’d be something else.

  49. 49 Courtney G. May 13, 2009 at 2:20 PM

    I think that this article could go along with anything that a student enjoys to do. Any activity outside of school is an opportunity cost taken away getting good grades at school.

    Facebook is a very common activity for most high schoolers and college students. There is a lot of time spent on it. Even in class, facebook is on a lot of students computer screens.

    I don’t think facebook lowers students grades but I do agree that it takes away a lot of time spent on homework or studying.

  50. 50 Lucy Hwang May 13, 2009 at 3:15 PM

    What a fun article! Well, I don’t use facebook that much, so I don’t know how much normally people spend on that. But as a user of blog, I guess it takes away time. But how could you say a conclusion of facebook is bad for grade. It looks they are related, but I don’t think they really are. A good student will manage their time whatever they do such as sports, club activities, community services, or video games. I think it’s too harsh for facebook to be accused of bad grade.

  51. 51 Nirbhik Trehan May 13, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    i don’t agree with the article facebook is not a cause for reducing its users grade. i feel its a good thing if you use it the correct way. i can be used in many useful ways also as we can share notes on it as well as discuss using the chat in this way we are getting entertained as well as learning. so i fell if facebook is used in the right way i can help us boost our grade.

  52. 52 Jim Castilone May 14, 2009 at 2:40 PM

    I don’t know that I agree with these findings. While I acknowledge that there is obviously back to them, I know many people with great grades who are users on Facebook. I think it is far too broad to simply say that Facebook users have lower grades. Its not like Facebook lowers intellect.

  53. 53 Casey Kingdon May 14, 2009 at 3:59 PM

    This statistic that they have come up with about a full grade lower for facebook (why does facebook have a red underline like its not a word by now?)users is not taking into account that if the people who got the higher grade had a facebook, they would maybe get their work done before logging onto facebook. I agree that it is simply another distraction, but it is just as easy as turning on the tv, or eating something in the fridge. If people want a distraction from their work, I think that they could find one easily.

  54. 54 Kevin Clark St marys Macro mwf May 14, 2009 at 7:59 PM

    This is a very very general, vague statement. Id like to see a 24 hr break down of both persons in question, the facebook user and non user. Does the non user really have that much extra time in their day and is that extra time spent studying?? I feel like both types of people have the same amount of time to be spent studying and this article is taken out of context. Just another example of the news personnel taking advantage of the national public. Another sentence, phrase, graph, survey, or chart that is blown out of context to distort the figures in the favor of the side of the author. BOO!!!!!!!!!

  55. 55 tmt2 May 14, 2009 at 11:26 PM

    You are right. It makes sense. If you are not on facebook you are using your time to do something else. Hopefully something productive like studying and working for that 4.0. But then that would mean that it depends on what you do with the time that you are not on facebook.

  56. 56 Michelle V May 15, 2009 at 7:10 AM

    I find this to be very true. People who overindulge on facebook tend to have worse grades then those who don’t use it at all. This is really evident with my the majority of my friends. The friends that spend a lot of time on facebook tend to do more poorly in school because there are only so many hours in a day and when you spending it on facebook another aspect of you life must suffer as well. I do think though that as you get older your priorities become more important and you move away from wasting your time on things that are less important because those important things fill up your time. I think that teachers probably don’t do a poorer job teaching as a result of facebook because they should be able to have good time management.

  57. 57 tlr7 May 15, 2009 at 12:55 PM

    In ways i agree with this article, Facebook is much of a distraction away from homework and studying. But, I feel that there are also so many other distractions out there for kids, not just facebook. It is also the way that kids choose to spend their time, I dont think facebook lowers a kids grades, I believe that it is the interest and dedication the kids lack, to be so distracted by other things to not do as well as they should in school. I feel that even before facebook, there has always been something that appeals to kids more then studying and doing homework. There are always temptations.

  58. 58 Jerry Ellison May 16, 2009 at 2:10 PM

    I would not doubt this claim at all for a minute. and im not even an addicted user of facebook like a lot of people are. ill pop on for a couple minutes now and then to see what my buddies are up to, but i dont sit on it for hours commenting on everyones pictures. however, when im trying to do my homework, it is definately a problem, not because im obsessed with it but because im just not good at keeping focused on my work. my roomate is a perfect example. he doesnt have a facebook, so when he goes to the library, he cranks out all his work in a couple hours like its nothing. he also gets like a 3.5, where im at like 2.8. Case in point. Uh oh, i think ive got a new message.

  59. 59 Cole Scharton May 17, 2009 at 11:46 AM

    First of all I would just like to say that I appreciate you relating this posting to the teachers as well, very funny. Okay, so I completely agree with the impact Facebook has on grades, it is simple cause and effect, spend time not studying because of Facebook, lower grades. I would like to defend Facebook as well, any time spent doing anything other than studying means lower grades. I for instance am a competitive racquetball player and compete in tournaments all the time, this results in needing to practice a lot, meaning less time to study, meaning lower grades. Even academic activities can have the same result. As president of the Accounting Association club on campus, I easily spent 10 hours a week preparing for speakers, posing flyers to advertise, and researching other things the club could do to increase involvement. Long story short, it is understood all students grades will be compromised by extracurricular activities, we just need to make sure that what we are doing instead of studying will have a positive effect later on, Facebook more than likely will not qualify.

  60. 60 Walter Munill May 17, 2009 at 1:53 PM

    I don’t think facebook has anything to do with the ability for students to get good grades. This seems to be another way that someone uses statistics to make something look much worse than it really is. I do accept the fact that some people may not do there work because they get distracted by facebook, but because such a minority of people don’t use social networking sites I feel the statistics are skewed in favor of the writer’s opinion.

  61. 61 Britany Linton May 17, 2009 at 7:09 PM

    I personally agree 100% with this article based on the fact that i am an avid facebook user and find myself logging on when i am avoiding homework. I think facebook is an unnecessary distraction that i am guilty of having. “Maybe [Facebook users] are just prone to distraction. Maybe they are just procrastinators,” Karpinski. I agree with Karpinski on this quote because, as a procastinator, I am prone to distraction and use facebook as a way to prolong doing school work I should be doing.

  62. 62 Simon Kudus May 17, 2009 at 8:02 PM

    It’s true that Facebook can be a distraction from you’re studies. I have a Facebook but I’m not really active on it and sometimes I forget all about it but none the less there are people that spend a lot of time on Facebook. But I also feel these are the same people that would still being doing something else other than studying. That something else would just replace Facebook.

  63. 63 Robert LaVoy May 17, 2009 at 11:34 PM

    ya i can see how that would make sense. I don’t even know how good my grades would be if i spent all the time on facebook and added it to my study time. But then again if i didn’t have facebook then i would be spending that time procrastinating in some other area.

  64. 64 Dennis K May 18, 2009 at 3:14 AM

    Its obvious, and this includes anything else you do with you time other than studying! Common Sense, less hours studied, your grades will simply suffer from it

  65. 65 Stephen Cassinelli May 19, 2009 at 2:02 PM

    I don’t think there is any question. Of course facebook takes away from students academics. The only question that can be asked is how often are students on facebook. You could say that facebook only takes away an hour or two of someones day, but for others it is a serious addiction. Some use students use excuses saying that it does not take away from their time to study, because if they are not on facebook they are probably spending their time on other non academic work. Feel that most people that use facebook on a consistent bases do average lower grade than they would if they were not changing their status every hour on the hour.

  66. 66 Mva89 May 20, 2009 at 7:53 PM

    This doesnt surprise me at all. I find it to be true personally. I probably waste a lot of valuable study and homework time on facebook. It is logical that this will have a bad effect on my grades considering I probably would have spent that time studying if facebook didnt exist. However, it depends on the person you are whether or not it has a significant effect on ur academic work, some people are very good at setting aside sufficient time for studies without any interruptions. unfortunately Im not one of those.

  67. 67 Alyssa McKinney May 20, 2009 at 8:10 PM

    Not surprising. Especially when a large number of students admit to checking their Facebooks dozens of times a day. To be honest, I don’t think that Facebook is really to blame for lower grades. It’s a student’s personal choice. If they didn’t have Facebook, they’d just find another outlet to waste their time on.

  68. 68 Craig K May 20, 2009 at 9:30 PM

    Were these number conducted on high school students? I feel like they are the main facebook users, and these GPA’s are high for college students. Either way, I think facebook is nothing more than a ditraction that people use to procrastinate. It is admittedly an entertainng one, probably wh the grades were so much lower. STudents will always find ways to distract themselves, regardless if it is on facebook or not, but one cannot argue with the numbers. Facebook lowers grades.

  69. 69 Carl Hernandez May 22, 2009 at 2:25 PM

    I dont necessarily agree with this article i believe its the way you manage your time. If you know when to plan to study and when to go on facebook it wouldn’t affect you. its the users fault that there getting bad grades and to blame it on facebook is ridiculous to me.

  70. 70 quique May 26, 2009 at 10:57 PM

    i dont agree with this because i know people who use face book that still have really good grades. I dont think that facebook makes a difference it all comes down to time management.

  71. 71 Shannon Lackey July 29, 2009 at 12:30 PM

    I could very easily see how facebook could contribute to lower grades. Especially when I am doing homework online and need a break I find myself surfing through people pages or updating my own. Facebook places to my short attention span. Also since I work and go to school time management is huge and I shouldn’t spend time on facebook if work is not done, and sometimes I pay the price for it. Go figure facebook started out for college students to network and now it is leading them to do worse in school … a little ironic I think. I think students with facebook just need to prioritize there free time online and homework. Facebook makes it way to easy to procrastinate school work.

  72. 72 stacey smarker August 5, 2009 at 11:12 AM

    I think that Facebook is a distaction to students. You would think if they spend so much on the computer typing to friends that they could devote that much time to their homework. But, in this case many dont and procrastinate. I have to admite I have done it. I am at falut for chatting with friends, but I do find time to do my homework. This is a very conterversal subject. I think that it is the person who is to blame. They make their own decisions and choose how they want to spend thier time wisely or not. It is not Facebook that is the problem but, the beholder and what they do with their time.

  73. 73 E. Speizer August 5, 2009 at 10:05 PM

    As other students have already said, this is no surprise. Personally, when I’m writing a paper or doing a tough homework assignment, usually I go on facebook to procrastinate or take a break, rather than hit the books harder. Then, you begin a conversation with a friend of yours and before you know it it’s too late to continue your homework. Facebook is in the same group as TV and video games. They’re great, but only in moderation.

  74. 74 Jessica Schimke August 6, 2009 at 3:34 AM

    I believe that Facebook probably is lowering the GPA of those people. I know it seems like those people would probably just get distracted by something else if Facebook weren’t there, but I think Facebook may just be an exceptionally big draw for some people.

  75. 75 Hailey Cook August 6, 2009 at 10:11 AM

    Very interesting point, it makes a lot of sense though, if there is no opportunity cost for studying or working you will obviously succeed in these areas much further than you would if you only spent half the time you would have if you had facebook, but the trade off is (supposedly) having a better social life and connection and not quite as good of grades. This is also interesting because today though, the amount of employers looking to hire Social Media Coordinators has sky rocketed, so really in one sense you are doing your self a benefit by increasing you level of “expertise” on Social media sites such as facebook, because you may have a lower gpa by .5 % compared to another candidate in your same hiring position, but who has more human capital, based on experience!?

  76. 76 Amanda Chow September 24, 2009 at 9:06 AM

    Everything should be done in moderation. Yes I believe that Facebook users that spend majority of their time on the site have lower study habits which creates lower grades. There are users though who can limit and control their time on Facebook while getting the same or even better grades than nonusers. Students can obviously get easily distracted on the site, but the site is also a good way to ask whatever community they’re apart of to help them with a homework problem or study question too.

  77. 77 dlilpanama September 29, 2009 at 10:56 AM

    hahaha….this is funny. i dont have a facebook acount but this makes sence to me. if your on the computer on facebook your doing your homework or studying. i also think it depends on the person because some people dont neeed to study some can just go to the class and take everything in those people can have a facebook. the ones that go to class and fall asleep or dont understand things and need to study shouldnt have a facebook. it just depends on who can handel it and who cant. some people know how to use there time wisely. others dont but with this thats like saying a person shouldnt have a computer for the internet or shouldnt have twiiter aim myspace none of that not just facebook.

  78. 78 selduhhh October 19, 2009 at 4:44 PM

    I guess this study makes sense, although it’s very strange to be reading this. Sure I could be spending the time I spend on the internet or on facebook could go to my time for studying.

    I guess I could see if this really works myself since I don’t have a facebook account. Maybe my GPA will go up a grade! That would be very nice if it did.

  79. 79 angela October 19, 2009 at 8:34 PM

    I disagree. I don’t think the use of facebook will lower your grade as long as you use it in moderation. In that case, we can say that internet in general may lower your grade if you don’t take seriously your responsibilities as a student.

  80. 80 Courtney B October 30, 2009 at 7:17 PM

    This may be true for some Facebook users, but Facebook isn’t the only way to waste time. It really just depends on the person. Some people spend hours online chatting with friends, but many others just have Facebooks to keep in touch and check comments in moderation. It’s not like if you’re a Facebook user you’ll get worse grades. However this research study doesn’t surprise me.

  81. 81 Robert Rey, Econ 100 November 2, 2009 at 12:05 AM

    I feel vindicated because I never found a use for social networking sites in the first place. When I had a Facebook account years ago, it really did feel like a distraction. Getting the most of it requires a lot of dedication and fine tuning to achieve whatever goal you want. It can be a very tedious process; finding each one of your friends individually online, then regularly visiting their pages and leaving small messages, and then taking advantage of the more complex parts of the site like pictures and page design to impress other people. This personalization can eat away hours of your time. There are definitely better things to focus your attention to. I understand that sometimes it can be an effective tool to keep in touch with people, and for emergencies, but I don’t need to keep doing it as often as other users.

  82. 82 Nicole Hernandez November 17, 2009 at 8:56 AM

    I don’t really agree with this because each person can choose to go on facebook or study. And facebook is not the only website that people go on rather then study. It all depends on the person and how they spend their time.

  83. 83 Nick Pasquale November 19, 2009 at 12:56 PM

    I agree with this because economically it is like making a product. If you spend more time on a product without distractions and take your time it is more than likely going to be a good product. But if you spend less time on a product with distractions the odds are that it is not going to be a very good product. It is the same thing with homework, I know that if I spend more time on my homework without any distractions I understand the material better which causes me to do better on tests compared to not taking time on homework and being distracted on facebook.

  84. 84 Samantha Fagundes December 4, 2009 at 3:51 PM

    I agree that Facebook could have an impact on your grades, but that’s your decision. A lot of people do procrastinate and turn to Facebook to pass time. For me, even before I had a Facebook, I would always procrastinate so, like Nicole said, it really just depends on the person.

  85. 85 Anna Chkhikvishvili December 6, 2009 at 8:17 PM

    I highly think that facebook can be a problem for most students. However, facebook itself does not have to be an addicting site. It is the users problem because they would rather mess around on the web than study. Facebook provides a lot of things including beings social with peers, keeping track of how your friends are doing and always being connected. Some might say that there is nothing wrong with that but others might disagree saying that facebook takes being social to a whole different level.

  86. 86 Rochelle Galzote December 14, 2009 at 9:20 PM

    I don’t think this is true because i don’t have a facebook and my grades aren’t all that great. I do have a myspace but i spend most of my social networking time on my phone. I don’t think its just facebook that cause lower grades. I think its social networking in general.

  87. 87 Tiffany Molinar December 16, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    I think facebook is just one way to blame kids for not doing their work. If people are focused enough they won’t be distracted by facebook. I know that every so often when I get on the computer to do homework I stray away from it and go on facebook, but I don’t blame that on anyone but myself. I have self control and can very well say no to facebook, but I’m going to find an excuse to not do my homework when I get the chance, and facebook is just a great outlet for that.

  88. 88 Tiffany Molinar December 16, 2009 at 5:27 PM

    I do agree with you somewhat Rochelle, anything can distract us whether it’s friends, family, games, movies, etc. There are just things that are more enticing than doing homework so it’s not fair to blame facebook or myspace on kids getting bad grades. I think it’s just a conincidence that the averages are lower for people that own facebook, because more than likely the same people who own facebook enjoy socializing and spending time on other things than school work.

  89. 89 Nathan Couch December 17, 2009 at 1:02 PM

    Ha, this article is funny because I know a lot of my time is wasted on the internet but not necessarily checking social networking sites (anymore) but reading a variety of blogs and ebooks. It’s seriously zapping on my time but I still feel like I get good content out of it. One thing that takes some of my time is mentioned in that article, video games. I play a lot less of them now but the ones I do play take up valuable time.

    The internet is both a tool and a toy and it’s the user’s responsibility to utilize their time wisely.

  90. 90 TTS06 December 17, 2009 at 1:12 PM

    I don’t think facebook, TV, or any entertainment is bad for your grades as long as you can be self disciplined and put your priorities in order. Of course school is always more important than facebook.

  91. 91 noactive January 10, 2010 at 11:01 PM

    Is Facebook Bad for Your Grades? .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

  92. 92 kellie edwards January 13, 2010 at 8:39 PM

    i agree with this arical as a teenager i have found facebook is very distracting, when i am doing it i cant never resist the temptation to check my facebook. When i am bored i go on it, heck even when i am meant to be doing something else i go on it. Facebook, i agree is great but maybe if you go on it for 15 mins once a week. About six months i deleted my Facebook and found that i was alot happier and got alot more things. The negitive i have found is that i do miss ot on photos that pretty much it. PEOPLE its called talking to people in real life. 🙂

  93. 93 Econ Consumer January 25, 2010 at 12:21 AM

    I totally agree Facebook is consuming individuals. I barely have time to look at my email. Everyone is talking about Facebook. I can’t believe what personal information is given out their pages about themselves and family. Everyone says it’s private but businesses look at Facebook. I have to limit myself and others in my household how much time we spend on the computer. I know I could not Facebook and do as good in school. FAcebook is a part-time job. Facebook is like an addiction. First, it was My Space now Facebook it’s like keeping up with the Jones, what else is next.

  94. 94 Anthony Azevedo February 25, 2010 at 8:27 PM

    I totally agree the internet is taking up the majority of people time in one way or another. How many people are now also using Tweeter? I just totally see that our population is getting stupider has the days of internet move forward. When we miss spell word, we do not have to look them up, just right click on them. Writing checks is going to lost and dead art form soon. If all the computer crash we will be in trouble.

  95. 95 Britt Rockseth March 18, 2010 at 7:36 AM

    I believe that there is a correlation between the time spent on facebook and the time spend on homework. But if you spend so much time on Facebook and can’t manage your time between the two so much that it affects your GPA I feel that there are underlying issues. I will also admit to going on to Facebook while doing homework but then I realize “i should get off and do my homework”, I guess this depends on the how self controlled you are or if you have an addictive personality. But totally blaming Facebook for the lowering of GPA’s is a little far fetched, there are many other outliers that can lower a GPA as well, think about before Facebook, parents are teachers used to blame TV, video games, and spending too much time with freinds. I feel that this hype over Facebook will decline just as myspace did and people will move on to something else to grab their attention from their homework, there will always be something to distract you from homework, because there are many other things out there more exciting than homework!

  96. 96 Ryan Moura May 3, 2010 at 12:16 PM

    I think that it is a very interesting article because I am probably the one person I know who is openly against Facebook, and always have been. I think that Facebook has been a burden on the minds of many young people who feel that connect through the internet and this technological day and age. I know from the experiences that I have seen from my roommates, Facebook has caused them to get side tracked from their studies and make them more interested in other people and what they are doing instead of themselves. That is my whole debate against Facebook, is that it creates a very egocentric attitude among people. It shows that one thinks that they need to update their profiles to keep people in the know around the clock, but I think no one should really care or try that hard to be that self indulged.


Leave a Reply

