Education Costs Greater than Health Care

From Carpe Diem:collegecpi

Professor Mark Perry shows us that college tuition has grown much faster than medical care since 1978. Perhaps we should spend the same amount of time reforming education as we are in health care?

7 Responses to “Education Costs Greater than Health Care”


  1. 1 Melissa Alexander August 19, 2009 at 1:38 PM

    I agree! I have 4 children and I have seen the major decline in education the older my children get. And yet I pay a ridiculous amount each month in Health care for a family of 6. I have noticed, in education, what seems to be of importance to the administration is attendance, and not academics. Schoold get paid if your child is in attendance not if they are absent. After the elementary level there are also less and less programs for the kids to get the help they need. Elementary schools are focused on STAR test results and pound grades 2-6 for months about testing. What they need to focus on is teaching our children, because they are our future leaders. And yet the money for education in K-12 diminishes each year and our college tuition becomes impossible for families to afford…At this rate we will have a generation of healthy kids without a formal education. GREAT!

    Both healthcare and Education are of vital importance…but if our Education costs for tuitions don’t slow down…we won’t have many doctors or nurses to keep us healthy. I think they go hand in hand; meaning they should be affordable.

  2. 2 Alanna Heaney August 25, 2009 at 8:11 AM

    I agree with this completely. My best friend is going to Sonoma state and she told me within the last month of summer tuition has increased 3 times. I think it’s crazy. I went to catholic schools all my life and when I went into high school every year it would increase but within the 4 years I went there it increased at least 2,000 dollars. I agree with the persons comment above me, Melissa’s. Education and healthcare go hand in hand because people go to school to become doctors and nurses but if tuition keeps getting higher how well people are able to afford to go to school to become what we need to get good healthcare.

  3. 3 John McCue August 25, 2009 at 1:54 PM

    I’m simply of the opinion that in our efforts to provide government assistance to aspiring students we’ve churned inflationary pressures in education. Now you have a great number of people who are educated, though for a perspective employer a degree looks more on par with a certification because of the number of people acquiring them.

    You often hear of a liquidity preference in our economic discussions. I believe employers as a whole are experiencing an experience (over education) preference.

  4. 4 Amanda Chow September 16, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Like Alanna’s comment, I also went to private/Catholic schools and each year the tuition always went up. I think though that it is ridiculous to have to pay for our health care in the first place. People have the right to live so it is ethical to have people pay for their own life/health? The same goes for education. I believe that everyone should have the opportunity to receive an education without stressing over how they can afford it. Both education and health are an essential part of life.

  5. 5 Samantha Fagundes December 6, 2009 at 12:29 AM

    Like some other people I too went to private schools all my life and the price went up soo much. And I agree with Amanda and what she said about how people should beable to get education without having that stress to afford it. A lot of my friends have the grades to go to prestigous colleges but have to go to community college for the first few years because the tuition is too much. We need to get more of a balance because education and healthcare are both equally important.

  6. 6 Anna Chkhikvishvili December 6, 2009 at 7:53 PM

    i think that education and health care are both extremely important. I think it is horrible that people have to pay so much money just so they are covered by health care. Of course education costs a lot of money because education is something that some people do not care much for and dont consider too important. However, Health care should be an accessible for everyone.

  7. 7 Taylor Latt December 15, 2009 at 12:34 AM

    education should be reformed, however, if everyone can afford higher education then who will do the jobs that no one else wants to do? i know for sure if i had a bachelor’s degree i would not be a garbage man, or working janitorial. i think this is where people differ. with healthcare, everyone should have it. i read somewhere that the U.S is one of the only countries without free healthcare. it amazes me to see where our priorities as a country are.


Leave a Reply

