California’s Unemployment is 11.9 Percent

From the Sacramento Bee:

California’s unemployment rate continued climbing to 11.9 percent last month but there was encouraging news as the pace of job losses moderated. 

The Employment Development Department said the state’s unemployment rate jumped three-tenths of a percentage point during the month. But the state lost just 35,800 jobs during the month. That’s the smallest loss in months and may suggest an easing of the downturn. The state has been losing at least 60,000 jobs a month for the past several months.

Sacramento’s unemployment rate rose to 11.8 percent, up a tenth of a point from a revised 11.7 percent in June. The region lost 8,000 jobs during the month, with much of the job loss coming in education as summer schedules kicked in. In a year’s time, the region has lost 45,700 jobs, or 5.1 percent, and unemployment has risen 4.6 percentage points.

California was tied with Oregon for the fourth-highest unemployment rate in the nation. Michigan was No. 1 at 15 percent, followed by Rhode Island (12.7 percent) and Nevada (12.5 percent).

9 Responses to “California’s Unemployment is 11.9 Percent”


  1. 1 Deb Snyder August 21, 2009 at 8:09 PM

    I find watching California’s unemployment rates fascinating. As the CFO for my organization, I am responsible for hiring (and firing as well as Riff’s and any other lay offs) and the unemployment rate has a direct impact on how I do my job.

    But as of August 12, I joined the other side. I, myself, became unemployed for the first time in 32 years of employment. Having cut my staff by 52% in the last 12 months, there was just no longer a need for a full time CFO.

    The EDD statistics say that 35,800 jobs were lost during the month (we will assume they mean July.) Besides my job, which has not yet been reported on, what is the nature of the remaining jobs lost? 8,000 of the jobs lost in the Sacramento area were due to the calendar of the schools. Because this is cyclical, should these jobs be factored into the overall unemployment rate? Will September post a 8,000 decrease in lost jobs when those people go back to work?

    Oh, I so fondly remember the days when the unemployment rate in Marin County (where I live) was 2.8%. Will we ever get back there?

  2. 2 David Perez August 22, 2009 at 3:21 PM

    The rate of unemployment in California is awfully disturbing. A couple of close friends have either been layed off or had to cut down significant hours from their jobs. I myself am trying to ride out the bad economic times by going to school. And speaking of school, there was about fifty classes that were cut this semester (from NVC) because of the whole budget crisis. That means some instructors got the bad end of the stick. Not only that, but additional classes will further be cut during the spring semester.

    I think the economy will get worse before it gets better. The main thing is just to stay positive and keep your eye open for any job that may be available. I know Napa has had a couple new businesses open around the area. So it’s not like all hope is totally lost.

  3. 3 Ruby S August 23, 2009 at 4:55 PM

    As encouraging as this article may have intended to be, I think that the fact that so many people are continuing to lose their jobs is alarming, especially the fact that California is in the position of having the fourth highest unemployment rate in the entire nation.

    This worries me more and more as a college student, because I am trying to earn a degree and be able to get out into the world in order to find a job. I do realize that it depends on what field I plan on working in, but it is still somewhat discouraging. I also fear that this horrible economy will cause the companies and corporations who let so many people go to realize that they might not need as many people working for them to keep them going as they found out from firing so many employees, and use this excuse as a precautionary in order to maintain a lower number of workers in case anything else happens to the ecomony in the future.

  4. 4 Michelle Benton August 25, 2009 at 12:28 PM

    I work in the Human Resources Department of a flight training school in Napa. The company I work for is contract management for a Japanese based company. We have not had to cut our work staff down for that very reason. If it wasn’t for the fact that Japan is paying our salaries, we would probably be out of a job too. Although Japan’s economy is also a little rocky, it is nowhere near as bad off as the declining state the United State’s economy is in. Our corporate office is seeing a decrease in employees as well as top executive’s salaries, but Napa’s employees are pretty safe for at least a year or two because our income is coming from overseas.

    Because of the declining U.S. economy and the already terrible unemployment rate of pilots for U.S. airlines, the company has started focusing their training on foreign countries like China. China and Japan have crowded airspace which makes flight training difficult in their countries. Because they are growing nations, they need pilots to keep up with the demand for them. That is where the company I work for wants to come in and supply them with that, and hopefully it works.

    I am new to this whole “economy” thing so I am not sure if this makes sense, but it seems to me if our nation became more of a producer of goods and services instead of such large consumers, we would have a better chance of getting out of the situation we are in. I know there are a million other factors, but could this be one of them?

  5. 5 Kaleen Scott August 25, 2009 at 7:21 PM

    I was a victim of the unemployment rate when the economy took a turn for the worse by being laid off from my previous job. It was shocking to me because they laid numberous employees off at a time where we were our busiest season and it was clear that they just couldn’t afford extra help even if it meant sacrificing the customer service we were providing. Thankfully, I was able to recover by finding another job in hospitality shortly thereafter and it was a perfect fit because I am majoring in hospitality. I guess everything happens for a reason.

  6. 6 Gina September 1, 2009 at 7:41 AM

    This article is encouraging but it is still disturbing how many people in California will be loosing their jobs in the months to come. My mom recently received a notice that she will be layed off in October. It is crazy that this has hit so close to home, and has made a huge impact on my life. I have learned to stay positive and move forward. Although I hope that this article is true that our situation may be getting better, but I think we still have a long way to go.

  7. 7 Christopher Morris September 1, 2009 at 7:42 AM

    I can’t decide whether I should be excited or nervous. So the unemployment rate in California ONLY raised by .3 this last month, so as long as only 35,000 jobs are being lost I should be alright? I don’t think so. I won’t be satisfied until there starts being 0 jobs lost, maybe even a few gained. Times aren’t getting better, they’re just getting less bad.

  8. 8 Michelle Benton September 1, 2009 at 11:51 AM

    Right on Christopher! I think we all tend to forget that policy got us to where we are now, and that we need some serious economic science to get us out of it. The problem, however, is getting the two groups and their differences of opinion to come together to form a plan that works. It is especially hard when the economy is tanking so hard and fast that people want a quick fix. With the right policies put in place, I think the economy can recover 100%, but even the smallest of bad decisions could keep us here for a long time. I enjoyed your different take on California’s “better” unemployment rate.

  9. 9 marie moussa September 7, 2009 at 2:20 PM

    The high unemployment number in my state, California, in comparison with other states is unacceptable to me. My husband is a state employee, due to the current state budget shortfall, he and all state employees are getting three furlough days per month. This translates into a 15% percent pay cut. Considering other families we know and hear about, we consider ourselves blessed for continuing to have a paying job. I feel very badly about all those who are unemployed with families to support and a house payment to make. I am looking forward to hearing the good economical news with the creation of new jobs for the unemployed.


Leave a Reply

