California 8th Among World Economies

From the SF Gate, if California were a separate nation, it would be the eighth-largest economy in the world.

If the San Francisco Bay Area were a separate nation, it would be the 22nd largest economy in the world.

24 Responses to “California 8th Among World Economies”


  1. 1 Carling September 9, 2009 at 12:37 PM

    I find this fascinating! Since I am from Portland, Oregon I am used to a smaller population and lots of Douglas Firs, so it has been quite the adjustment getting acquainted to the heat and the huge amounts of people. I knew California had a large economy, but not that large! I wonder where California would stand on a graph of locations with the largest amount of debt…

  2. 2 Deb Snyder September 9, 2009 at 1:11 PM

    That is not a new fact to me, but every time I see it, it just boggles my mind.

    Maybe it is time to bring back that favorite subject of California becoming its own country, standing alone from the United States.

  3. 3 Amanda Herrera September 10, 2009 at 2:04 PM

    Similar to a previous blog, i have also heard people talk about how California is big enough to be its own country which is weird to think about since i have lived in California my whole life. However, its ranking in the world of economics is new news for me. It would be interesting to see what are the pros and cons for having California become its own country. On the other hand it is hard to believe this when i have also heard that right now California has a big debt. That alone wouldn’t be a smart idea to build a new country from (but i am not saying this is going to happen. its all hypothetical thinking). Furthermore, California must really be rocking the economics world if a major part of the state, being San Francisco, can also be ranked in the same poll as 22nd in the world. Therefore California being ranked in the top 10 and San Francisco Bay Area ranked in the top 25.

  4. 4 Margaret Garbo September 10, 2009 at 9:00 PM

    I think that it is not surprising that if California was a separate entity from the US, it would be the 8th largest economy in the world. California seems very diverse. It has many different kinds of people from different ethnic backgrounds that I think helps the state cater to different kinds of markets around the world.California is able to satisfy the consumer’s wants and needs while producing quality goods and services at the lowest cost possible. They are able to do this by constantly innovating themselves to cater to the public’s demand while remaining true to their basic factors of production being their rich agricultural land, labor from the numerous and diverse population and the capital that is used to produce more goods and services. One trend that I have observed California follow is the trend of a healthy lifestyle by producing organic and healthy goods. In the Philippines, what I always see in the grocery are California fresh Orange Juice which many of us buy. Real estate has also been rising market in California I think because many Filipinos I know like it in this state as well. This proves that California’s economy is large because their products are able to sell not only in this part of the world but as well as in Asia gaining international importation and markets circulating money and goods, only showing a continuous increase in the California economy’s size.

  5. 5 Kaleen Scott September 10, 2009 at 9:31 PM

    Wow! Interesting facts! Makes me feel good about living in the bay area, let alone California! I also think it’s interesting that California has the most seats in the house of representatives being 53 seats.

  6. 6 Maria Rogan September 14, 2009 at 7:43 PM

    This seems crazy. I feel that California could probably never be its own country. That just seems outrageous. I am not a big fan of our governor and the way he is controlling the state. California is having money problems so I personally cannot see CA as a separate country. I’ve lived in the state my whole life and never would have thought that if it was its own country, it would be the 8th largest economy in the world. In short, I am blown away and definitely surprised!

  7. 7 alanna heaney September 15, 2009 at 7:11 AM

    I feel like I’ve heard this statistic before in high school. I think it’s amazing how California could stand on its own. I agree with Maria right above me. I am not a big fan of our governor too; I think his decisions are stupid even though I heard the money he gets for being governor he gives away to charity. I don’t know if that’s the truth but it could be a possibility. I used to live in San Francisco and I believe that it could stand on its own. It’s really a small city but it’s big in so many ways. I think California being ranked as number 8 is crazy, but it could also be true. We are a leader in so many ways to other states but what I’m wondering is why we are not the first to lead in same sex marriage. Usually California is the leader in things like this. I’m just in shock about that.

  8. 8 Ruby S September 15, 2009 at 8:53 AM

    Living in California my whole life has slightly blinded me to how large (and well known) it really is. I had relatives visiting from Canada who were so excited to visit California because of all of the things it is associated with including San Fran. They also said that they had heard that California’s population was about the same as all of Canada’s population.

    I have to agree with one of the comments above though, in saying that our large economy also brings quite a bit of debt with it…

  9. 9 David Perez September 27, 2009 at 5:36 PM

    We are very fortunate to be living here in California. Yes, it has problems, but every state has something to deal with. Fact of the matter is we have beautiful beaches, good schools, and as stated, a high economy. And because we are such a big state with a large, diverse population, it is very hard to please everyone. It doesn’t necessarily help either when you have a governor who isn’t performing to California standards. With that said, most people can agree that the higher ups in Sacramento are doing a crappy job with everything right now.

    If California wants to remain a stable economy and have high outputs, there needs to be a little cleanup in Sacramento. The working class people are tired of taking cuts from resources they havn’t really had in the beginning, while the upper class continue to protect their 100k salaries.

  10. 10 Christopher Morris September 29, 2009 at 7:36 AM

    I think that this is a great quality to have in this state. Pretty much everybody knows how big of a state California is and how many different goods we produce, but I didn’t realize we would be that much of an impact. I say we consider breaking off into our own country maybe a little of our debt would go away.

  11. 11 Kirstie Scott October 16, 2009 at 1:24 PM

    I find these facts very neat, especially being an outsides coming from the East Coast.

  12. 12 Rene Martinez October 22, 2009 at 2:55 PM

    Wow thats interesting. Im guessing that if New york was a separate nation that it would be around the #2 largest nation seeing how its where business pretty much originated.

  13. 13 Courtney B October 30, 2009 at 7:27 PM

    This doesn’t really surprise me, but it’s still amazes me! It makes me feel greatful to be living in such a well developed place. California is like the sunshine to the rest of the country. It would be hilarious to me if California really ever did break off to become it’s own nation or something of that nature. In fact I heard somewhere that Texas was considering something like that…

  14. 14 Genine Lobo November 17, 2009 at 4:29 PM

    This is an interesting fact, but not new to me. California had a population of 36 million in 2008 and is only growing. It is even responsible for 13% of the United States gross domestic product. California is an extremely diverse state. It is interesting going to different states and seeing such a change of scenery. San Francisco itself has plenty of opportunities for all of its residents. Although unemployment was at 12% in California in September 2009, it is fascinating to see that it still has the 8th largest economy in the world.

  15. 15 Kali Hardcastle November 17, 2009 at 7:48 PM

    its pretty mind blowing how developed our economy is in california. im not entirely surprised though. however, i have had to made an adjustment living in the bay area. society’s pace and lifestyle is much faster than what im used to, currently living up here after living in fresno my whole life. however, when you go to cities such as san francisco, im not surprised that its such a large economy. with so many people who are constantly visiting/living and doing things such as shopping, touring the city, anything. i was always proud to be from such a culturally diverse and interesting place like california, but i must say this is more than i expected. im impressed.

  16. 16 Melissa Alexander November 22, 2009 at 6:20 PM

    That is completely crazy! To know that we are a part of such an amazing ecomony. I think California is the best state EVER….I enjoy visiting other states,but there is nothing like coming home to the Bay Area. I think it amazing that California would be 8th in the world if it were a seperate nation. There is no where else you can go that if you travel 2 or more hours in different directions…you can reach the mountains, beach, lakes or rivers, we live in an awsome state.

  17. 17 Hyo Kim November 29, 2009 at 4:49 AM

    I also heard this in one of my class. I was very surpised when I heard this at the first time. However, isn’t it weird to hear that it is at 8th, eventhough their economy is in recession?
    Is it because of the population of the rich people? or the overall? Because, what seems to me is CA looks like it’s got more minimum wage people than other state.

  18. 18 Evan Schlinkert November 29, 2009 at 12:25 PM

    This is very interesting to me because it just seems that we have such great economies, at least in size, and yet we are still stuck in this recession. It kind of blows my mind that we are like this with so many big economies throughout our nation.

  19. 19 Samantha Fagundes December 6, 2009 at 12:16 AM

    This is really interesting but not really surprising because I think California is so diverse and pretty big in size. Just like a lot of people said I love California and everything about it. It’s crazy that we are 8th!

  20. 20 Sarah Reddell December 6, 2009 at 11:51 PM

    I find this extremely interesting. It amazes me how important a single state could be. The bay area itself would be 22nd! I feel extremely lucky to be living in such and important place. It does however worry me that although we are such a strong and large state we are still in just as bad of a recession as everyone else.

  21. 21 amos mccray-goldsmith December 7, 2009 at 12:44 AM

    its amazing that california is a big as it is. as we learned in class, california also boasts ten percent of the worlds fortune 500 companies. being a single state and being even more powerful than all the others combined is a truly remarkable feat. and also looking at the sheer size i california in relationship to the other seven that are larger than us, california is so small. but good things come in small packages

  22. 22 Luke Napier December 7, 2009 at 10:13 AM

    I can see how California is easily the number eight economy in the world. With all of the tourism, top 500 fortune companies, and all of the different types of people in this state it is no wonder why we rank so high. People all of the country seem to end up at the end of their journey to end up in California. We are a state that has much to offer through agriculture and manufacturing good, this is why I am shocked that we are not ranked even higher than we are.

  23. 23 Alejandro Plascencia December 8, 2009 at 7:09 PM

    These facts show us that California is the most prosperous state by far in the United States. If standing alon California can be in the top 10 of economies then that is pretty amazing. I fjust the SF Bay Area is the 22nd largest then that shows where Californias main cash flow and trade comes from.

  24. 24 Nubia Cazares December 9, 2009 at 10:15 AM

    This is very surprising news, and very interesting too. I have never thought of California as its country, but apparently if it was it would have a great economy. It would be interesting to see how California would do as a country by it self. Would it do better or worse? And San Francisco would be 22nd is also crazy to think about. Who would have ever thought that a city could have such a great economy in comparison to the rest of the world?


Leave a Reply

