Does Posting a Calorie Count Change How People Eat?

Yes, see Freakonomics for full response.

68 Responses to “Does Posting a Calorie Count Change How People Eat?”


  1. 1 Alanna Heaney October 8, 2009 at 12:55 PM

    i think posting calories up in restaurants is a good idea because people no what calories they are intaking. when i went to ireland the had the calories on the side on the menu and that made me change my mind on what i wanted to eat. but for restaurants this might not be good because people will finally see how many calories are in there food so what the people who run the restaurants should change some of the ingredients in the food to make the calorie intake lower. i have a cook book called cook yourself thin. they take something like pasta that is a load of calories and cut it in half by changing some of the ingredients.

  2. 2 Yolly T. October 8, 2009 at 3:21 PM

    Personally, seeing the calories posted on menus really help make the food decision for me. Showing the true calories in food you would think that it would change a lot of people’s minds. However, that isn’t the case. Most people tell themselves that they have been eating this particular food for so long and it hasn’t had any bad effects, so they continue eating the way they were before seeing the calories.

  3. 3 Angela W. October 8, 2009 at 5:45 PM

    I don’t think that posting calorie counts will change too much what people order in restaurants or fast food places. People stop at fast foods to get something cheap and the least thing they will look at is the calories count, or if they do, they do not based their order in how many calories their burger has. I have seen also this kind of information in a restaurant, and i don’t remember seen people looking at calories information before ordering or changing their order because of what they read in it.

  4. 4 Amanda Herrera October 8, 2009 at 8:03 PM

    Personally, I know I take into consideration the calorie count when i see it on the menu. When the article reveals the percentage of people who said the calorie count influenced there decision i thought the percentage would be closer to 45% rather than 27%. Our society has recently made people really aware of our health since there obesity in out country has increased over the years. Although it is good to be aware and cautious of what you eat i wonder whether our society has made us more aware because they are truly concerned about our health or rather has a way to make money. As you know it isn’t cheap to eat right. Especially us college students. Therefore, while calorie counts seems like a good idea to help people watch their weight it goes beyond just knowing the number of calories. Although we have to start somewhere so why not with calorie counting.

  5. 5 Larry Oppenheimer October 8, 2009 at 8:10 PM

    I think that posting calorie counts (along with fat content, ingredients lists, and other basic food information) is a good idea. Obesity is a public health problem in the US, and it needs to be addressed.

    However, a great many bad habits – dietary ones chief among them – are perpetuated through denial. It is often the case that people know something they are doing is a bad idea, but they somehow rationalize it to give themselves a way to ignore the knowledge that it’s bad and ameliorate the accompanying guilt. Posting calorie counts does require that people apply a bit more power to their denial, but many people find that to be less effort than making a change, even one for the better.

    Reducing obesity in the US is going to come about through two methods, singly or together: providing more potent incentives (cultural, financial, or otherwise), or coercion (regulation). Everyone will scream about this last, of course, and it is important to question regulation in order to ensure that it does not infringe on individual liberty, but public health crises infringe on the liberties of society in general, and that is (usually) considered to be a higher priority.

    So how could you regulate to control obesity? You certainly could not regulate what people can eat, if for no other reason because it would be totally unenforceable. That leaves regulating what can be made and served. Also pretty darned difficult to do. I’m not sure if there is a way to regulate, so it looks like it will come down to incentives, though financial incentives (making it more expensive to make, serve, and eat unhealthy foods) will also be very difficult to enact.

    It’s a sticky wicket, obesity is.

  6. 6 courtney brewer October 9, 2009 at 10:33 AM

    Although I do appreciate it when the calories are posted next to the items on the menu, personally, it never affects my choice. If I’m dining out, I pretty much already know that I’m going to consume more calories than I should. When people eat fast food, they already know it’s bad. I don’t think it’s very shocking to see the massive amount of calories that are in a big mac. Honestly, in my opinion, all of these government led ideas aren’t going to help fight obesity very much. It is always going to be up to the individual to make healthy food choices.

  7. 7 Maria Rogan October 9, 2009 at 4:19 PM

    I think that the calorie count on the menu is smart. Obesity is a big problem in the United States. Knowing how many calories are in food before you eat it can help those who are trying to lose weight. Also, when people eat fast food, I would think they know how many calories are in the food before they eat it. Obviously fast food is not the best thing for a person to eat, yet we all eat it anyways. Everyone should watch what they eat because being healthy is important. However, counting calories isn’t the best thing for someone either. It could cause eating disorders so people need to be careful when they are watching what they eat. Altogether, I agree with the article and find it to be very interesting.

  8. 8 Nick Baumann October 10, 2009 at 12:23 PM

    Although the strategy of publicly posting calorie counts is ineffective, I still think that something needs to be done about the problem of obesity, especially in low-income cases. These people, from what I understand, are more likely to become obese because they rely more heavily on cheap, fast food. The cost of treating obesity has become way too high, maybe as a result of these people passing along their healthcare costs to other hospital members or the government. A simple posting of nutritional information will not change people’s eating habits; the government needs to take a more active approach in curbing obesity.

  9. 9 Robert Rey, Econ 100 October 10, 2009 at 5:09 PM

    The article reminds me of a scene from the documentary Super Size Me. During Morgan Spurlock’s investigation, he took some time to see if various McDonald’s restaurants in New York City had Nutritional Facts posters for everything they sold. I don’t know if putting it in a visible place was really enforced before the movie was made. I remember he found some of them either had posters in very obscure places in the restaurant or neglected to put them up at all. The rationale from the restaurant owners was probably that posting it appropriately would be bad for daily business. It had the potential to turn away potential customers and lower their profits. Guess they didn’t need to worry back then if the results of this experiment are accurate.

    However, I’m surprised things like this are only happening recently. Super Size Me was released in 2004, but a law requiring all chain restaurants in New York City to visibly show information about the nutrition facts (calorie count) for their items passed only last year? And research on its impact started and ended only now? I might be too critical at politicians and medical researchers for this article, but someone already did some of the work they’ve been doing years ago.

  10. 10 David Perez October 11, 2009 at 5:21 PM

    In all honesty, I think that posting calories on foods doesn’t change the way people eat. Nonetheless, if people become obese or overweight, they have no one to blame for their condition since the contents of the food were visible. For example, when I go to a restaurant or a grocery store, I know exactly what I want to eat. For one, I do not worry about calories or the make-up of the food. On the other hand, another person could be wanting to lose weight, and thus he or she will utilize the calorie count to accomadate their weight loss goals.
    I myself am very tired of people complaining that restaurants and food businesses make them fat. It is truly an individuals choice on what he or she decides to eat. Self-regulation is key, and one shouldn’t look to or blame another person or institution for problems.

  11. 11 Ruby S. October 12, 2009 at 11:46 AM

    I completely agree with the analogy about the safest drivers being the only ones wearing seatbelts; I think that it’s a great idea to post the calories for food in restaurants, but most of the people who will pay attention to this are the ones that are already health conscious.

    I think it’s better than not having the calories posted, but most people view eating out as a treat and want to get something they can’t make at home so they end up splurging and eating a ton of calories. Once people see this, and see how it affects other people, I think it will be another step in the right direction for educationing people about what they eat.

    The lack of change might also be due to the fact that people are not really aware of what a single calorie costs. It would be interesting if we placed the amount of workout time next to a food like an hour bike ride for a child’s small frys, and see how people reacted to that!

  12. 12 Amanda Chow October 12, 2009 at 6:03 PM

    I really think that posting a calorie counts at restaurants will change people’s ways of eating. I know that when I eat out and see the dietary guide i have to look at it. If i see an entree for 300 cal. I’d be more swayed to go with that then a 600 cal. entree. The bad side of it is that there is not official law stating that the restaurants have to post the calories right on the menu. Usually there is a nutrition booklet that you have to ask for or that is placed on the table not in plain sight. Once the law is instated that the calories have to be put on the menu I think it will completely change people’s minds about what they choose to eat because now the calorie count will be right next to the food choice.

  13. 13 Remy Smith-Lewis October 12, 2009 at 8:18 PM

    Yea I think it does, when people see what they are eating they are more less likely to get less the bad stuff. i know myself i have cut back on things that i know are bad.

  14. 14 D. Colin Sorenson October 13, 2009 at 7:18 AM

    Freakonomics is a great way to see what may cause daily occurences from an obscure point of view. The book that this author co-wrote entitled “Freakonomics,” is a very interesting and eye-opening read. They tackle some very odd economic questions, in many different ways. This article in particular, he supposes that, since the calorie posting didn’t move the needle much, that there should be a “fatty-tax” instead. Although, I had thought that there would have been a greater change then there actually was when NY instated that calorie posting law. But, I think that the fatty-tax would be going to far. I realize that we are a very obese country but I don’t think that this would work all that much. We see it with the tobacco industry, which demonstrates; if they tax something that is bad for your health it will still sell. Most people who want to quit smoking, don’t want to quit because of the money problems. If the fatty-tax was imposed, the only thing it would benefit would be the government’s wallet.

  15. 15 Alexandria Horton October 13, 2009 at 7:22 AM

    I think that posting the calories for a health concious person like myself is a great idea because I will change my plate choice based on those facts. Although, someone who is food driven rather than health driven, would not care what the nutritional value is. Instead they just want that taste. I like to think that once you’re full it doesn’t really matter what you ate in the first place. That is why I can continue to eat healthy. It is a real eye-opener when you realize just what you are putting into your body by having it posted, and I hope that people are educated enough to realize what they are doing to themselves. Adults older than myself never had to take nutrition classes, maybe they just don’t know any better.

  16. 16 Ben Petersen October 13, 2009 at 7:23 AM

    People will eat what they want. Eating makes people happy, and gives them that satisfaction they may have been waiting all day for. You would think that posting calorie counts would have a significant effect eventually, but the article makes a good point. The people who are really worried about what they eat already make the right decisions on dieting. For 27% to merely second guess their decision to eat at a fast food restaurant after seeing the calorie breakdown, and give in to the temptation, really says a lot about the obesity and habits of Americans.

  17. 17 Gina October 13, 2009 at 8:07 AM

    I think that posting calorie intake will change a lot of peoples minds. I think they will think more about what they are putting into their body and make the effort to consume less. I know I don’t always look at the calorie count, but when I do I deffinately consider healthier options. This wont work for everyone obviously but it is a start!

  18. 18 Gina October 13, 2009 at 8:08 AM

    I think that posting calorie intake will change a lot of peoples minds. I think they will think more about what they are putting into their body and make the effort to consume less. I know I don’t always look at the calorie count, but when I do I deffinately consider healthier options. This wont work for everyone obviously but it is a start! !

  19. 19 Deb Snyder October 14, 2009 at 6:55 AM

    While eating and consuming calories is a big part of why people become overweight, let’s not forget that there are two parts to that equation. The other part is how active a lifestyle that person leads. They can cut calories all they want, but if all they do is sit on the couch, they will still be overweight.

    Education is the only answer for this problem. Posting calorie counts on menus is certainly a start, and I, for one, appreciate it when restaurants do this. I may still eat the Double Dutch Chocolate Latte Cake with whipped cream frosting, but at least I know how long at the gym it is going to take me to wear it off.

  20. 20 Mike Beretta October 18, 2009 at 12:19 PM

    I think it’s a good idea to post the calorie count and those that want to pay attention to it will do so. As far as changing habits, that will be up to the individual. If a low income family has to eat, they will be looking a the cost, not necessarily the calorie count. It is cheaper to fill up on high fat and carbohydrate filled foods and if they are hungry, it isn’t going to change their minds about looking at how healthy the food is. Yes, this country has an obesity problem. People need to start looking at the cost of foods that they prepare themselves versus the cost of eating out. There are ways to find inexpensive foods at the grocery store and make healthier choices.

  21. 21 Matthew Abang October 18, 2009 at 3:29 PM

    It has often been said that America has overweight poor people. Why? If one is poor, they will only be able to afford a hamburger at McDonald’s for a few dollars versus a forty dollar organic salad. As the article points out, the more well off will change their diets as a result of calorie count postings. A starving person does not care how much they eat as long as they get to eat. One of the reasons grocery stores like Safeway are still doing well is they have food that people can afford. Contrast this with stores that sell more organic foods. Hardly anyone can afford it. Trying to keep people healthy is good, but ultimately we make our own choices about what to eat. I’m sure there are few people who don’t have a hard time resisting the aroma of Burger King French fries every time they drive by a Burger King.

  22. 22 selduhhh October 19, 2009 at 3:26 PM

    Posting calories doesn’t make a huge difference to me, no matter where orwhat I’m eating, but I know plenty of people that count their calories for the whole day, and it seems to have a huge impact on them.

    Especially if one is trying to lose weight and they have the calorie count a lot lower than usual. For example, my aunt went to a docotor because something in her digestive system wasn’t working right, so then then the doctor had her count her calories, but she was only to have about 1000 calories a day. That made a huge difference in her life.

    Although knowing how much calories I’m taking in doesn’t affect my mood to eat what I want, but I enjoy reading all the nutrition facts on what I’m eatting, healthy or unhealthy. I would rather have all the nutrition facts posted than nothing at all.

  23. 23 Alex Stauffer October 19, 2009 at 4:48 PM

    I would have to agree that it’s a great idea to let calorie content be known. But I do think the researchers need to take into account of the time period we are all in with the recession. All of the upper and middle class probably adjusted when they became aware of the calorie content in McDonalds and KFC but the truth is the lower class doesn’t really have a choice. Money is the big issue right now and lower class families don’t have enough to react to calorie content. They need food to live and if that means McDonalds because it’s the cheapest I don’t think we can hold that against them.

  24. 24 Nick Pasquale October 19, 2009 at 8:48 PM

    Posting a calorie count may change the way people eat for a week or a month, but eventually most people will go back to their old eating habits. I do not think that posting calorie counts will change the way people eat because most people are going to eat whatever they want to eat. Personally the calorie count helps me out a little bit, because I am trying to gain weight so I try to eat a lot of calories and protein. But for people who are not specifically trying to gain weight or lose weight, I dont think that will even bother to look at the calorie count or change the foods that they regularly eat.

  25. 25 Genine Lobo October 20, 2009 at 3:21 PM

    A calorie posting for different foods may be helpful to some but completely insignificant to others. I personally try to be conscious to the nutritional value of different foods I eat, so the calorie count on certain foods is definitely helpful for me. However, just as the article stated, those who are not concerned with their health, will not have an interest in these postings. Nonetheless, I completely agree with Stephen J. Dubner as he states that it is not a bad idea to have a calorie count posting, and those that will be most responsive to this idea will be those very conscious of their health and well-being.

  26. 26 Nubia Cazares October 21, 2009 at 7:22 PM

    This article was very interesting. I wasn’t aware of this law in New York about calories. I think it definitely has good intentions and is ideally a great idea. But the reality is that low income families eat at fast food places, such as McDonalds, because it’s cheap. This might not be the healthiest type of food but organic and more nutritious food is more expensive. Low income families aren’t buying unhealthy food because they like it but because that is all they can afford. I think this idea definitely helps people become more aware of what they eat but I don’t think it will have a huge impact on the amount of calories people consume, especially low income families.

  27. 27 Melissa Alexander October 21, 2009 at 8:58 PM

    Posting calorie information on fast food products is pointless….Does one really think that anything fried with ketchup, which is made with a lot of sugar, is really good for them anyway?…I believe that the only way we are going to change our habits is first at home and second in our schools. Having a class in nutruition as young as kindergarten would be ideal. And I don’t agree with the whole “cheap” aspect of fastfood ( as stated in the above comment)…because to feed my family of 6 at McDonalds cost me about 45-50 dollars. NOT CHEAP, and I buy the “meal deals” and nothing extra. I can go to the store and buy dinner for a lot less…I believe, for me anyway, it’s a convenient food. Yes, posting calories on fast food items is nice…but I believe that those who count calories anyway….don’t eat fast food. Otherwise, they might eat a small french fry and thats all they can eat for the entire day. LOL
    In the end it is true that those who are health conscious will pay attention to the calorie posts and those who don’t…wont.

  28. 28 Rene Martinez October 22, 2009 at 2:47 PM

    Heck yes. People are more inclined to watch what they eat when the calorie count is posted and make decisions in what they can get in addition as well. I love Freakonomics i read it in high school its a pretty insightful book

  29. 29 dlilpanama November 2, 2009 at 10:55 AM

    i think if fast foood or resturants posted up calorie counts somewhere then more people might change how they eat. i know sometime i try to find out how much calories be in the food i eat because i try to watch what i eat and i cant find it. if places told us some how it would help. i think people that want to diet and watch there waight then this would help but this might make people lose bizz because if i saw it had a lot of calories i wouldnt eat it like that anymore.

  30. 30 Carling November 8, 2009 at 11:51 AM

    I recently ate at California Pizza Kitchen, a restaurant that posts the number of calories next to each item. I found this helpful and really wish other restaurants as well as fast food restaurants adopted this concept. I factor in the amount of calories I estimate each time I go out to eat, so while at CPK I chose the Chicken Pesto Pasta rather than the Barbecue chicken pizza.

    As for twittering what you eat, I think its a great idea that will help many people. Keeping track of what you eat, especially when you know people are judging it, will help keep your cravings in check.

  31. 31 Evan Schlinkert November 11, 2009 at 6:51 PM

    I think that it is a great idea to show calories because even though many people don’t know what calories really are and what they stand for our society today has put this idea that calories are bad. I feel that if calories are shown on a menu then it will defiantly change how people eat and to me that would be a great thing. But when looking at twitter, and how and what people eat i feel that it is stupid because personally I just don’t like twitter, I find it ridiculous that people put things that are personal in their life on there.

  32. 32 Karla Martinez November 22, 2009 at 7:55 PM

    I agree with the article in that the people that are more likely to be responsive to calorie posting are those that are already conscious about the foods they eat. These people are probably not likely to be consumers of these fast foods restaurants to begin with. For those who are regular customers, the calorie posting could be a good awareness method only if they are have a general knowledge about what calorie amounts are appropriate to consume. If the customers don’t know what the numbers mean, then they will have no impact on the way they eat. In order for this method to work the general public needs to be more educated in general nutrition and calorie counting.

  33. 33 Anna Hernandez November 28, 2009 at 10:07 PM

    calorie count charts only work for those who are health-conscious. if a specific item is an individual’s favorite but they discover the dish is overloaded with sodium, sugar, fat, etc., they may still order it simply because they don’t eat that heavily everyday so it must not do them harm. others may have realized from the beginning that the dish was unhealthy and did not dare to order it. some people may have had the dish before, but after reading the nutrition facts, decided to look for an alternative dish. either way, there will always be someone who orders unhealthy dishes and that is why they exist. if there is a demand, there will be a supply.

  34. 34 Hyo Kim November 29, 2009 at 4:40 AM

    I also agree that posting a calorie counts at restaurants will change people’s ways of eating. In these days people are much aware of health issues than before. Like how outlook considers to be more important than before, people would whatever it would take them to look nicer.

  35. 35 eldiel December 2, 2009 at 10:37 PM

    I think people should eat what they want and not have to worry about how much calories they are intaking. And besides how many people now what exactly a calorie is, and why they are important. Knowing how much calories they eat, and how much they have to exercise after is another issue in its self. I think everyone should wake up and run for two hours just to eat that burger at Saga. No freshman 15 please.

  36. 36 Britany Linton December 3, 2009 at 10:11 PM

    I always appreciate a posted calorie count. Usually I dont “count” my caloric intake but when i look at what im eating and how many calories are actually in it I think twice and maybe go for the healthier option. its always nice to see what your putting into your body. especially for those trying to watch what they eat.

  37. 37 Samantha Fagundes December 4, 2009 at 4:34 PM

    It really just depends on the person. I do think that posting a calorie countis a good thing but for me it would not make a huge difference. It would only influence those who are watching what they eat on a daily basis.

  38. 38 Francine Zumbo December 5, 2009 at 3:46 PM

    I think its great to have restaurants and fast food have calorie charts. I don’t think it influences everyone but it influences those who count calories. I like knowing how many calories im consuming but it does not change whether im going to eat it or not. Sometimes it might but it depends but it is nice having them.

  39. 39 Kali Hardcastle December 6, 2009 at 1:30 PM

    i think that it is good when restuarants post how many calories in their food, but it personally doesnt affect my decision in what food i choose. however, it probably does help a lot of people. if someone sees that the calorie intact in mcdonald’s food, for example, is at a sky high level, they may realize that they shouldnt go their very often. however, i dont this realization occurs often enough because we are constantly fighting obesity. as it has already been discussed in this and previous articles, taxing food or even telling you exactly what is in the food apparently hasnt made that big of a difference in curving people’s sugary appetites.

  40. 40 Vince Kaehler December 6, 2009 at 3:44 PM

    I believe that posting this information does effect how certain people eat. But, I also believe that the people that often should pay attention to the calories in certain foods don’t. I personally don’t pay attention because I just don’t see a reason to. However, there are certain people that do and I respect them for that.

  41. 41 Anna Chkhikvishvili December 6, 2009 at 6:13 PM

    “Think of it this way: what if the safest drivers on the road were the only ones to wear seat belts?”
    I think that is an excellent point. People that already care about calorie intake are gonna be the ones who really take this matter seriously. Overall, it is a great idea because, yes, it might just start out with the healthy eaters in the beginning but soon after the other customers will notice how better and fitter they will feel by eating the right way.

  42. 42 Sarah Reddell December 6, 2009 at 11:34 PM

    I feel that although calorie count posting is a good idea, it is not as effective as most would hope. As mentioned in the article, those who would pay the most attention to the calorie counts are those already conscious of their eating habits. Most people will not use the calorie counts as their deciding factor in what they choose to eat but if they really want something they will get it. Those who are worried about their eating habits would most likely only need to decided between healthy meals, meals with a small difference in the amount of calories. Health conscious people wont need the number of calories to decide between an apple and a donut, they know the apple is better.

  43. 43 amos mccray-goldsmith December 7, 2009 at 12:26 AM

    i see the calorie count all over the the cafeteria at saint marys and personally it dosent effect me at all. it must have to do with how set in our ways americans are and how fat our country is already. just with just 27 percent or roughly a fourth of people being swayed by it, it does not even effect the majority of us. while that minority may be eating better, its not doing much else for anybody.

  44. 44 JoAnn Reynolds December 7, 2009 at 5:19 PM

    Posting of calories is a great idea for those people who are counting calories. How about posting carbs and other nutritional facts…would that stop people from the lower income brackets from purchasing fatty foods. I think not. I think that raising the price of the fatty foods and lowering the price of the food that is better for you would probably work better. I find that the reason lower income people eat fast food is because it is cheap and fast. They can’t afford to spend the outrageous prices that organic foods charge and they don’t have the extra time to spend making that nutritious and homemade meal everyday.

  45. 45 Kaitlin E December 7, 2009 at 8:41 PM

    Although in the study they found that the total amount of calories purchased was unchanged after the caloric information was posted, i know that personally i prefer to know just how many calories i am consuming when i eat out. I remember a recent visit to the Cheesecake Factory where I was provided with the caloric information, i was shocked when I realized that my “healthy” choice of a grilled chicken sandwich was over 1000 calories! It made me realize that eating out should really only be a treat and not a habit.

  46. 46 Josh Highness December 8, 2009 at 2:09 PM

    I think the caloric posting is a great idea. However they said the calories were posted at fast food joints. No offense but those walking into a McDonalds of KFC already know they’re in store for a meal filled with grease and fat. Personally, I rarely eat fast food but every once and awhile theres that “craving” for something fatty and I don’t think reading the outrageous number of calories is going to make me have a second opinion. It would be interesting to see though if middle class restaurants would have these listings.

    I do like the idea of the “fat tax” however. It does have a bad ring to it but having a constant reminder about what your eating with a bold “FAT TAX” percentage printed on a receipt might have people reconsider what groceries they purchase when it starts to affect their wallets more heavily. Its one of the reasons people will choose a burger over a salad. Its simply cheaper.

  47. 47 wallacej December 8, 2009 at 5:20 PM

    I dont believe that posting a calorie count changes how people eat for most cases. Most people dont know how to eat right anyways and just think about calories. So in terms of how many claories oyu eat then yes they are able to watch this but they dont know where the calories are coming form and if there good or not.

  48. 48 Alejandro Plascencia December 8, 2009 at 6:57 PM

    Posting a calorie count on everything does change the way people eat because they can see how many calories they are taking in. And nowadays people like making diets soley based on calories so this will help them.I think outting the nutrition facts on stuff will make people want to eat more healthy.

  49. 49 Stephen Cassinelli December 8, 2009 at 8:39 PM

    I want to believe that posting a calorie count, but in the back of my mind, I really don’t think that it matters. Lets say that when you walk into a fast food place and are planning to eat there but then see the the calorie postings, it might make you think about what your eating but will not change the fact that your still going to eat it. Even if people were trying to eat better most of them don’t really know how. Some meals that people consider to be healthy meals are actually not very good for you, and I think that people just over think when it comes to eating right.

  50. 50 Vina Giang December 8, 2009 at 8:54 PM

    posting calories up is a good thing if you pay attention to how much calories you need to have in a days diet and if you really know how to read what you are reading. I think people should know how much calories are in their food because at time people think something is healthy when it really isn’t at all. But i mean for myself i never read how much calories i eat because i think people should already know that if your gonna order a bucket of fried chicken be caution of how much grease is in that chicken.

  51. 51 Jamie B December 8, 2009 at 9:37 PM

    Posting a calorie count would be a good thing for our culture. Overall, our society does not eat healthy and at the very least as healthy as they should. At least if there was a posted calorie count on everything we consumed there would be no one to blame but ourselves.

  52. 52 Heinrick Devera December 12, 2009 at 12:13 PM

    I think that posting calories is a good idea, especially for those who are health conscious. This would definitely impact the choices of those people. Looking at the fact that there was no change in calories purchased really surprised me. I thought that there would be at least some change to it. I still say it’s a good idea to post the calorie count because the effect would probably kick in later in the long run, like the article said.

  53. 53 Taylor Smith December 12, 2009 at 9:49 PM

    Posting the calories is a great idea and a step in the right direction to help people eat smarter. I do not think this will work at all food places. Such as fast food, people most likely will not care as much as in a restaurant. I know i look at it when i am eating out and I have changed my mind a few times from seeing how many calories are really in the food i typical eat without realizing.

  54. 54 Brodeick Nickelberry Jr. December 13, 2009 at 3:52 PM

    I think posting the calories and food information is a must. However some times the fast food restaurant tries to hide this shit of the foods. A few years back I saw “Super Size Me”. So i started asking for the fact sheet at fast food places. and they where on places like the back of the tray mat. who looks there? but now i started seeing them on there wrappers of the buggers and such. But this does not stop people from eating it especially the already obese who don’t need to be eating it.

  55. 55 Kyle Reichenberg December 13, 2009 at 9:25 PM

    It definitely changes the way I eat. When you only weigh 125 pounds and are 5’7 eating something that only has 140 calories is important because for my metabolism that meal would be digested in 25 minutes an I would be hungry again. Then again i think its really important to know what you put in your body all the time, especially the sodium in a pre made meal

  56. 56 Tiffany Molinar December 13, 2009 at 11:40 PM

    I don’t see posting calories help change the way people eat. I know what I eat, and regardless of how many calories are in it I more than likely am going to eat it. There are calories on all the food we buy for our homes, but when it comes to fast food there aren’t any, but I know that going into these fast food places I’m not going to get the healthiest meal, but that’s most of the reason why I’m eating there. If I want healthy food I definitely won’t go out to eat. I’ll be staying at home and making it myself.

  57. 57 Taylor Latt December 14, 2009 at 1:38 PM

    Personally, Im not over the top calorie conscious, but i do look at how many calories and fat content when i got out to eat. Posting it makes people aware. they can choose not to look! I have actually left restaurants quite a few times since this new deal went into effect. Olive Garden is extremely unhealthy. a lot of their items (about 75%) are over 1000 calories with around 70 grams of fat, and about 30 of those are saturated fats. that just ruined my appetite and i could not eat there anymore. Another place i left was iHop. their salads alone were about 1000 calories.. a salad? that was ridiculous. it just gives consumers insight to what they are being fed, and i believe it is purely informational. if companies do not wish to have the negative feedback, they should switch to healthier alternatives and get those numbers down!

  58. 58 Hayden Scott December 14, 2009 at 5:00 PM

    I see a couple possible problems here. The first is that labeling calorie counts doesn’t equate to educating individuals about what that means. They aren’t necessarily aware of what the importance of calories are in a general sense but they also don’t become aware of how it relates to them. Essentially the context for their own decision making. The second is that the costs with health and nutrition is so abstract that it’s difficult for individuals to become sensitive to such knowledge so that even if they knew what was better for them in an intellectual sense they don’t feel the incentives to change acutely enough.

  59. 59 Rochelle Galzote December 14, 2009 at 10:03 PM

    I think that it’s a good idea so you know how much you are eating, but I’d still eat whatever it is that i wanted. If i wanted a certain food and i looked at the calories for it and it was really high, I’d still eat it.

  60. 60 TTS06 December 17, 2009 at 2:45 PM

    I don’t think posting the calories is going to help people with eating problems. I think that this may help people who are already concerned with their health.

  61. 61 Nathan Couch December 17, 2009 at 3:26 PM

    Posting calorie information is so characteristic of the technology/information age we’re in but I believe that it falls on deaf ears if the consumer has not made the active choice treat their bodies to health and excercise. Everybody has guilty pleasures but there is a point at which one has to draw the line.

    Though the U.S. is one of the most obese nations I do not agree with the potential “fat tax” that the article mentioned. I think it’s in our freedoms to eat what we like. However I think on the side of the providers more effort can be made (though a lot already has) to provide healthy and exciting alternatives to a McGrease and fries.

  62. 62 Soania January 7, 2010 at 1:43 AM

    hallo,

    ich hoffe hier im Forum kann mir jemand helfen!
    Ich habe aus versehen vier dateien von meinem IPod gelöscht. Leider sind die Daten nicht mehr im meinem Papierkorb.
    Die Daten sind sehr wichtig für mich! Ich würde die gerne wiederherstellen.
    Wer kennt ne Seite auf der ich Infos dazu finde, wie ich die Daten retten kann??

    Vielen Dank schonmal für eure Antworten

    danke

  63. 63 Michelle Benton February 9, 2010 at 2:39 PM

    I like the part in the article that gets right to the point, “How might a calorie nudge compare to a price nudge (some kind of a fat tax — on fatty foods, that is, not people)?” People respond to money, whether taking it away for bad choices or giving it for good choices. It is human nature. The benefit of counting your calories cannot be immediately recognized and we as a society in general prefer instant gratification especially when it comes to our money. It could bring a whole new meaning to the old adage “put your money where your mouth is.”

  64. 64 Ryan Moura April 28, 2010 at 10:20 AM

    I think that it is very beneficial for restaurants to post the calorie intake that it in the food they are serving to people. Personally I like to know what I am putting in my body at all times, and if people have that knowledge of what they are eating and intaking, they can keep a close eye on their health. America is one of the fastest countries, if not the fattest on this planet and that is because people just consume as much food as they choose and don’t really know what goes into that food, or whether it is good or not for you.

  65. 65 Kelsey Zeller May 17, 2010 at 11:01 PM

    Of course its going to make people change what they are eating. Before they wouldn’t know what they are putting in their body and then blame it on not knowing. Now they don’t have anyone to blame. Putting up the calorie count is a good idea. Certain people want to know what is going into their body and they have a right to know that.

  66. 66 Trella Chrisco May 18, 2010 at 8:04 AM

    Calories are good they give us energy. the only bad thing about them is people have to get up and burn them off. Yes people should be eating healthy but if people want to be living a healthy life style they will stop worrieing about calories and start thinking about how and where the food was made. was it fresh, organic, no trans fats or artificial flavors. these are the things that make people gain the unwanted weight, not calories.

  67. 67 Colette Whitney May 18, 2010 at 7:02 PM

    I think posting calories is an overall good thing. Since they have been providing them it made me change my mind about what I ordered quite a few times. I thought it was interesting that they said that even though they were posting the calorie count, people still left with the same percentage. Maybe it is because they order multiple food items with less calories that add up to a meal. It definitely makes people more aware, and I think in years to come people will start to eat healthier. Right now, I feel like most people look at it, and say “shame on me” but proceed to order. I think this is a step in the right direction though, the more aware people are about nutrition facts, the more they will take them into consideration.

  68. 68 Stephanie Boyle May 18, 2010 at 9:14 PM

    Personally I hate that restaurants are posting the calorie count. I am skinny, but I always worry about my weight, this just adds unnecessary stress. Saying this, it does not affect what I order. I think America is overweight and the calorie count is meant to help people make healthy decisions and I would hope that it does this, but I do not think it will affect too many people. Usually the type is small and people here love food. I think something should be done about the obesity problem, but this is not it. This may help a select few which is good, but I don’t think it will even make a dent. I think the calorie counts just make people feel guilty, not change their decisions.


Leave a Reply

