UC Tuition Raise is Good

Some interesting points on why raising UC tuition is a good idea, see here.

66 Responses to “UC Tuition Raise is Good”


  1. 1 Evan Schlinkert November 23, 2009 at 9:08 PM

    i agree with the statement when the article says “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” this doesn’t affect me at all because i attend a private school, but my sister attends UC Davis, and said that protesters were coming into the class room and disrupting classes, saying “Join our strike.” To me when i heard this it was stupid, because people are in class to learn, and these protest, most likely will not affect this rise in tuition.

  2. 2 yvonne November 23, 2009 at 10:10 PM

    I’m not agreeing with the tuition increase if the UC’s are paying some of the instructors unbeleivable salaries. Maybe there should be salary caps.I understand we pay to get the best education possible but I feel the monies need to be distributed wisely and fairly.I read somewhere the coach in Berkeley was getting 2.9 million a year salary. I’m sure majority of the students don’t go to Berkeley for a football career. I know the students there must feel the strikes are disruptive.
    I do agree tuition should match financial aid, some students are not as well off but do deserve to receive the best education. The economy is plunging downwards and everyone is raising prices. Makes no sense to me.

  3. 3 D. Colin Sorenson November 24, 2009 at 8:38 AM

    From what I read this will not affect the “middle-class” as much as it will affect the upper class. If they’re going to hike the price of tuition but follow it with a substantial fininancial aide increase, then I’m all for it. I don’t really see the big problem here. I think if my plans were to attend a UC college I might have a greater interest. But I want to attend UNR so that might be my bias.

  4. 4 Kaitlin Esser November 24, 2009 at 9:08 AM

    I am still a little confused as to how they will be be able to offer more financial aid for the lower class when I thought the increase in tuition was to decrease the deficit the colleges were running on. I could definitely be wrong, but wouldn’t raising financial aid benefits negate the good that the tuition hikes do for the finances of the colleges?

  5. 5 Alex Stauffer November 24, 2009 at 11:54 AM

    After reading this article you totally get a different outlook on the raise in tuition for the UC system. I always thought the amount that low income families have to pay in proportion to the amount the high class doesn’t seem right. The high class increase in income is significantly larger than low income families but the price of their schooling is only a tad more expensive. Not to mention the amount of financial aid athletes get when they attend universities and they are usually from high class families that could afford it.

  6. 6 Ciara Pedroncelli November 25, 2009 at 10:52 PM

    I am not sure about this idea of tuition increase. I really feel that public colleges should stay as cheap as possible so they are more available to all California students. I would be happier with the idea of raising the tuition for out of state students because they are not paying the taxes that California families are. Something that I am interested in hearing about is how the rise in tuition affects middle class families. I think that the rise could really hurt middle class families. My family is part of the middle class and we get no financial aid for my private school tuition which means that if I decided to attend a UC school I would have to pay a greater tuition and still receive no financial aid. This article comes at rising tuition from a new side but I still do not agree with it.

  7. 7 Genine Lobo November 26, 2009 at 11:50 PM

    Just as the article stated and Evan restated, “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” If this increase in tuition did give out more financial aid to those desperately in need, this tuition increase would be a great idea. My question is, why are the upper class students receiving financial aid? It must be obvious that some students desperately need aid in funding their tuition, so for what reasons are the UC’s giving this financial aid to students who are not in need. I am not sure why this money is given to them in the first place, and question if a raise in tution would actually be more beneficial for the lower class students.

  8. 8 Hyo Kim November 28, 2009 at 4:54 PM

    Raising up the tuition fee may be the natural thing that has to be occur in this kind of recession. Even though, it is definitely a bad news for the students who would have hard time for paying higher tuition fees. What I am really interest is ,. what would be the after effect of all this? In short term, because of they have raised tuition fee, they might feel little more safe from the budget, but what if this leads enormous students to other states?
    Wouldn’t that be a more loss?

  9. 9 Melissa Alexander November 29, 2009 at 2:43 PM

    I agree with Hyo Kim in the above statement: What if this leads an enormous amount of students to other states? I would think that would be a greater loss. However, I can’t imagine that they didn’t do some sort of census or statistical reseach before they just raised the tuition. I say that because I consider myself “middle-class”…however, there is no way I can afford to send all four of my kids to a four year college without some sort of help…and if the local four year colleges are raising tuition for everyone…that will only make it harder for me to send my children off to school…however, if they raised tuition for out of state residence I could understand a little bit more.

  10. 10 Maria Rogan November 29, 2009 at 3:16 PM

    Eventhough the article still says that raising tuition at state colleges is good, I still feel it hurts a lot of people. Many people will drop out of the school if they cannot afford it and therefore the college will lose their money. Also, the budget cuts are causing many classes to be dropped which makes it harder for students to get classes. There are so many problems with money going on that it is hard to say whether or not raising tuition is good or bad. It could go either way.

  11. 11 Marie Moussa November 29, 2009 at 8:50 PM

    I think that raising the tuition for UC’s isin’t such a bad idea. It will help students understand the major impact college has on their lives and helps them decide wheather or not they want to invest in their own future. Of course no one wants to pay even more money, but it’s something that they have to plan for. Financial aid will have to be handed out fairly for this to plan to be affordable. This could help fix UC budgets….but we don’t know for how long and if it will really be effective.

  12. 12 Vince Kaehler November 30, 2009 at 10:00 AM

    Raising Tuition on the upper-class at the rates stated in the article will force the upper-class to attend public universities well they will actually get more financial aid. This proposition has many flaws. As I stated before what happens when all the “rich” students leave the public school system for a private education? there will be no revenue for the school and the burden will fall on the middle-class. Everybody is out to save a buck and if you raise the tuition on only a certain group of people, the upper-class will go elsewhere.

  13. 13 Amanda Herrera November 30, 2009 at 11:38 AM

    I don’t necessarily think raising UC tuition is a totally bad thing. However, this might be because i am attending a private school where the tuitions is way higher. My feelings are similar to what a previous student said the quote, “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” Even though i attend a private school where the tuition is a lot, i still count heavily on financial aid such as scholarships, cal grants, loans etc.If i were attending a public school such as a UC i would still rely on financial aid but nearly not as much. Therefore, i do see there could be some good in raising the tuition for UC schools but this might be because i am not affected by this change.

  14. 14 Ruby S. November 30, 2009 at 12:22 PM

    It does seem that if the financial aid being given out to the poorer students increases as the tuition for the colleges increases, then the whole purpose of the tuition increase is not as effective as it was set out to be. Also, it would seem that the people who are considered ‘rich’ wouldnn’t be the majority of people attending a UC if they could afford a private university.

    In comparison to the tuitions of private universities, the UC’s tuition raise does not seem to be that big of a deal. However, when the student is the one who is paying for their education, any increase in tuition would be a big deal, especially if their financial aid isn’t matching the increase in tuition.

  15. 15 Fr,K November 30, 2009 at 1:35 PM

    If there is an increase in undergrad fees, there neeeds to be an increase in financial aide. It is public education, and if there is not a raise in financial aide it would make higher education unaccessible to some students in tougher financial situations than others, negating the “public” part of the education. Students of any background should be able to achieve without being indebted by multi-thousand dollar student loans that follow them around for life. Basically I agree with the article.

  16. 16 Jacqueline Guerrero November 30, 2009 at 2:09 PM

    Students who attend a UC or a private university know that it is going to cost money. I feel like students who attend UC’s and private universities know what they are getting themselves into and that the price of tuition will eventually rise as well. I understand why students are upset by the increase in tuition. However, if that also means an increase in financial aid and scholarships then that is good thing.

  17. 17 Kaleen Scott November 30, 2009 at 7:57 PM

    I disagree with this. By raising students tuition is not going to get the state out of debt any quicker. The government is out of money, where do they expect students to get more money to pay the increase? I personally know many students who were struggling before the increase and are now considering dropping out and putting education on hold until things get better.
    In addition, students who want to transfer soon won’t be able to because of the UC budget cuts.

  18. 18 Kathryn Koller December 1, 2009 at 1:40 AM

    Oh man this is exactly what my decision came down to two years ago when i was choosing between SMC and UC Davis. i got an academic scholarship from SMC and two loans from Davis. My dad went through and calculated it all out and figured out that it would actually in the end be way more expensive for me to attend Davis and i would also have fatter loans to pay off. At first hearing about the thirty two percent raise of tuition, i felt a little bad for the UC and was definitely thanking my decision even more to attend SMC. But after reading this article, it makes sense how these UC kids are causing an unnecessary scene. I think it’ll work out for sure and they will offer better scholarships and hardly anyone will notice the price increases.

  19. 19 Michelle Benton December 1, 2009 at 9:20 AM

    Wow. I have never thought of it that way before. I guess in a warped sort of way it does make sense. If the UC tuition is that much lower than that of schools that offer the same or less as far as education then yes, tuition is being undercharged. The only other concern is that the financial aid policies would change too. It sounds like the financial aid would have no reason not to change with the increase in tuition unless protest and adverse policies stood in the way. There would have to be better ways to get lower income people in to the system so that they could realize the benefits of financial aid. A lot of low income students take one look at the tuition and write off the idea all together because they lack the knowledge of these programs.

  20. 20 Cole Norton December 1, 2009 at 12:18 PM

    I do believe raising tuition in UC school can be a good. With the cost of tuition being higher, the public schools will be able to keep their good teachers around, instead of losing many of them to private or better paying schools. Along with this, the quality of education would increase without the students having to suffer a lot for it. Because the rise in tuition would be coupled equally with financial aids and scholarships, students who cannot afford a $5,000-$10,000 increase in tuition can still attend the colleges on grants and financial. The tuition raise, if kept at a reasonable price, would be a good thing for the UC’s. The budgets would go up, allowing good teachers to stay around and more money in the budget could let them keep the schools in good shape with technology, and living conditions.

  21. 21 Remy Smith-Lewis December 1, 2009 at 4:31 PM

    I find Hyo Kim in the above statement: What if this leads an enormous amount of students to other states? I would think that would be a greater loss. However, I can’t imagine that they didn’t do some sort of census or statistical reseach before they just raised the tuition.

  22. 22 Britany Linton December 1, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    I agree with Evan Schlinkert in the sense that people are in class to learn and that protesting the rising cost is a bad idea because school is a priveledge. The rising costs also don’t affect me personally because I too attend a private school but I feel if you don’t want to pay for college, DON’T. No one is forcing college down your throat. They need to keep the prices reasonable so there is equal opportunity to attend UCs but with more money in the budget schools will be able to make students’ learning experiences even better.

  23. 23 Vina Giang December 1, 2009 at 8:54 PM

    I agree with this statement of raising UC tuition is good because it is actually benefiting schools like St Mary’s as a private school our tuition is high enough and as the tuition for the UC’s keep raising then more people would want to come to colleges like St Mary’s so looking at a private schools perspective it is a good thing.

  24. 24 Taylor December 2, 2009 at 10:29 AM

    the financial aid talk gets me every time. It upsets me to no end knowing that I am considered a dependent student, and my mom makes too much money for me to get grants for school. The way it is right now, I have to pay for EVERYTHING with student loans. On paper, my mom makes too much, but in actuality she doesn’t. They don’t take into consideration that she is a single parent of three, and barely receives child support because her money is caught up in the state somewhere. So I pay for my own classes, books, car payment, etc. It pisses me off that if I was a single teen mom (no offense, i know quite a bit) I could get school paid for, but I actually get good grades and am not dirt poor and still get nothing to go to school…

  25. 25 Carling December 2, 2009 at 4:00 PM

    My entire life I have always gone to a private institutions. My parents chose to send me to those schools because they saw the benefit of a smaller class size and an individualized experience. In my eyes, I think that public school should be affordable for all citizens. By continuing to raise the cost of education, more people will end up dropping out because they do not want to accumulate a large amount of debt.

  26. 26 Nick Pasquale December 2, 2009 at 4:39 PM

    That is a good argument that tuitions should be raised, as long as the financial assistance increases with it. Their are richer students that receive big scholarships when they do not need them at all, and it would not be a problem for them to afford tuition. When their are poorer students who rely on financial aid or scholarships to pay for the schooling, and their are often times when richer students have much higher scholarships than poorer students.

  27. 27 nicholas joy December 2, 2009 at 7:47 PM

    the uc system does need more money but i feel that raises in tuition are often not matched by raises in financial aid money so that many students cant afford to attend these state schools anymore. I would say keep instate tuition the same while raising out of state tuition even more so that we can keep in state schools funded and helping the students of California.

  28. 28 eldiel December 2, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    I think the UC system can find alternates besides raising tuition. Students who are unable to afford to go to these school depend on lower prices and financial aid. This may lead to changes in who gets scholarships and the basis in which they are handed out. On the other hand having these higher prices will allow students to apply to more places, and become diverse with different schools they might not have thought about that offer different experiences.

  29. 29 Matthew Abang December 3, 2009 at 12:34 PM

    Nothing in life is free, even though we wish it was. Students at UC schools should realize that they will have to pay more for services or those services will be cut. The economic problems have hit private schools as well. Here at St. Mary’s, there is a hiring freeze. Many good teachers may not have the opportunity to teach better classes. The higher tuition will keep the UC schools open so faculty will not be laid-off.

  30. 30 Rene Martinez December 3, 2009 at 5:59 PM

    “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” This i can agree with but i as long as it doesn’t reach 75,000 a year or even 60,000. No would want to go to a four year college then

  31. 31 amos mccray-goldsmith December 3, 2009 at 6:25 PM

    it is definitely a very smart way in which to help fix the current problem. but the issue that i see is that while raising tuition by 20000 and giving the poor a fanacial aid amount to that much, it will be a progressive scale. there will be not just two sections but actually many, for each student will be evaluated on how much money their family makes. this could also make ordinary citizens become froads, for people may try to fake the amount of money they have by pretending to be on their own finacially so that they may be able to pay less for school. at least thats what i would do.

  32. 32 Angela December 4, 2009 at 3:27 PM

    I personally don’t want to pay higher prices to go to college, but if I have to decide to pay more for a better education and good professors, I will definitely do it.
    This is just my personal opinion, I know that some people agree with this as long as they have a better scholarship. In my case,I do no qualified for scholarship, so higher tuition means working extra hours to pay for that.

  33. 33 Samantha Fagundes December 4, 2009 at 3:40 PM

    This article definitely changed my views on the whole subject of raising tuition at UC’s. I guess it actually can be a good thing cosidering it can actually help out a lot of schools, especially privates. I agree with the statement “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” But raising it a significant amount would not be a good idea.

  34. 34 Josh Highness December 4, 2009 at 6:11 PM

    This is a great outlook on the subject of tuition, even at the JC there was an excerpt on the the tuition fees about how Gov. Schwarzenegger raised the junior college tuition fees. When I first saw it the first thought was that it might deter lower class students or those who wish to further their education from applying The raises however most definitely have to be matched with financial aid otherwise it would be a deterrent for some individuals.

  35. 35 Yolly T. December 4, 2009 at 10:45 PM

    I don’t think that raising UC tuition is such a good idea. I mean, I’ve been in private education all my life. My parents thought it would be more beneficial to me. However, UC schools are there to benefit those who don’t get an opportunity. So that is bad for all those people out there.

  36. 36 Jordan Premo December 5, 2009 at 10:41 AM

    I think that raising the price is ok if financial aid can match it, but making people who have more money pay more is just dumb. Just because a person is fortunate enough to have worked hard and establish wealth for themselves doesn’t mean you need to take more from them. If public school prices were as much as private school prices then you might as well just go to a private school. I am not wealthy by any means but I just hate the idea of making rich people pay more just because they have more money… wealthier people already pay higher taxes to compensate for the people who pay nothing.

  37. 37 Francine Zumbo December 5, 2009 at 2:44 PM

    I understand it is hard to pay for college but raising tuition is something they do at every school. Uc’s and private universities know they will be paying a lot plus a little more each. Raising tuition has its benefits though, some of that money will probably go to student facilities. When a college raises tuition I feel it should be matched with something, discount on books or more financial aid, etc. I feel tuition raise can be good for the school and later good for the students.

  38. 38 Justin Castro December 5, 2009 at 6:48 PM

    When first hearing about the tuition raise, I immediately thought it was a bad thing, and that UC students would be outraged, but since they are raising financial aid efforts as well, the tuition increase isn’t as bad as it seems. The lower and middle class families are the ones that benefit from financial aid, and the wallets of the upper-class families who are not on financial aid will not take too big of a hit by this tuition increase.

  39. 39 Jorge Clavijo December 6, 2009 at 5:02 PM

    Throughout my years in college I realized that there are certain things that could benefit you after graduation out of the name of your school. To receive a great education you will have to be able to afford it. However, as the article states “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students,” I wouldn’t be that worry then.

  40. 40 Anna Chkhikvishvili December 6, 2009 at 5:32 PM

    I went to a public high school and now am in a private college. Attending a private college is much more expensive than attending a UC college. However, SMC offers a lot of scholarships, from athletic scholarships to academic scholarships. Plus, SMC gives out the best financial aid out there. I know a lot of students who are here based on their financial aid and are happy because this way they get a great education and also dont have to worry so much about the loans they have to pay off in the long run.

  41. 41 Martin M December 6, 2009 at 10:00 PM

    I agree yet disagree. I cannot necessarily speak on behalf of UC students because I do not attend a UC. I go to a private college where it is super costly but still able to attend due to scholarships, loans, grants, financial aid and so on. I think it discourages those who attend UCs becasue they may not have money to afford a school like St Marys and can barely afford going to UCs. but then again, if tuition rises, so will scholarships and loans. My ideas have came from a combination of what students have said earlier.

  42. 42 Nick Rood December 6, 2009 at 10:20 PM

    A few things. First, I would love to know if Yvonne is correct with the salaries of UC professors as well as the Cal football coach receiving 2.9 million. I know a few professors who teach, or used to, at UC davis and they live a finacially average life. One even started teaching at Sac State for personal reasons, and it didn’t seem like she took a huge pay cut. Second, I am all for more financial aid for low-income students. I don’t know if this should come from middle/high income students though. The whole “tax the rich and give to the poor” is nice, but when is it too much? To an extreme, it is saying that those who have money need to pay for those who don’t, until everyone is equal and has the same amount. Sound familiar… Lastly, the UC system is probably the best public school system in the country. I believe 4 of the UC’s are in the top 50 public universities in the US. There will always be a demand for them and they reject thousands of students every year. Supply and Demand. There will always be plenty of kids to attend and I believe most of them will still come from within state.

  43. 43 Lukas Bradvica December 6, 2009 at 10:39 PM

    I do not attend a UC so I’m not able to come from the perspective of a UC student. However as long the financial aid, grants, loans etc. increase along with the tuition then it should not affect the students who get these things. High class students will have no problem paying for school, but the middle class students who don’t get enough financial aid may be left out to dry.

  44. 44 Chris Griffiths December 7, 2009 at 7:50 AM

    While a tuition hike may seem bad to some people it is a good thing, for without the rise in tuition it will be difficult to do any sort of expansion in terms of any sort of new classes or campus buildings and services may even have to be cut or teacher saleries decreased. So in order to keep the type of educations that these students are used to it only makes sense that they pay more when the state cuts back.

  45. 45 Luke Napier December 7, 2009 at 10:06 AM

    “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.”

    This point stresses the entire importance of this article. More tuition should be paid for by the student as long as he or she can afford it, but it the administration needs to use that money in the proper way. It shouldn’t go into football fields or any kind of sports activity, but to provide those who can’t with a future by providing them with an education. Most people see a raise in tuition as a negative thing, but one should look at it from the point that the school or institution can raise more money for teachers and supplies to keep their students in the classroom.

  46. 46 JoAnn Reynolds December 7, 2009 at 4:41 PM

    I think that fee increases at any level of education sucks! However it is still a business after all and they are in the want and need of making money. They have to pay their employees and administrators and in order to keep the quality of those things they have to be able to meet their demands. Look at all the education employees that are discussing striking because the cuts are hurting them and the only avenue for the schools are to make more money to meet those demands.

  47. 47 Nicole Hernandez December 8, 2009 at 9:06 AM

    This article was interesting. I never looked at the situation in the perspective that the author is. I agree with the statement, “Tuition increases are actually a good idea — as long as they are matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” Since they are increasing fees, then students should get more help with paying for school in the form of financial aid.

  48. 48 wallacej December 8, 2009 at 4:29 PM

    I think the increase in tuition isnt a bad idea for the UC’s. You still must take into account those who cannot afford to pay this because of financial problems. Therefor you still need to have fianancial aid and so on. This really doesnt affect me because I go to a private school but i could see how some people who are attending UC’s argue for lower tuition.

  49. 49 Stephen Cassinelli December 8, 2009 at 6:38 PM

    It seems like ever year the UC system keeps on raising their tuition, and it seems like some people are starting to understand why. I don’t really think i can take sides seeing as most of us attending St. Marys pay about thirty five thousand a year, but i can understand why many are upset. As long as payment plans and government aid’s are still available, this doesn’t seem as that bad of an idea and could be beneficial to the school system.

  50. 50 Alejandro Plascencia December 8, 2009 at 7:14 PM

    Some people may argue that even by increasin financial aide that a school should not need to “hike” up tuition by as much as 32%. Thats ridiculous and it will discourage studemts from wanting to attend these very good universities and attend junior colleges instead.

  51. 51 Kyle Ray December 9, 2009 at 12:13 AM

    I think there are a lot of good points in this article. Yes, raising tuition as well as financial aid will make those who can afford it pay and those can’t not have to.BUT. the entire mission statement of the UC system is to provide public,cost free, higher education and every step away from that is dangerous! I think that raising tuition may be a slippery slope that will end with the UCs being run even more like businesses and less like public schools

  52. 52 Jennifer Tarbell December 9, 2009 at 12:40 PM

    I dont care if yoru flat broke or have a billion dollars for school, college should be like high school, FREE! but since that’ll Never happen the reality of this sistuation is that the only people who get really screwed here is the middle class. the article barely mentioned the effect it will have on them. raising the cost of tuition will do nothing but hurt them. they make too much money to recieve addiquate finacial aid yet dont got money like the rich kids to make up for the difference. majority of college students are the middle class and instead of raising it to help the lower class by penalizing the the able upper class we should keep tuition the same so evey one can be on middle ground just like its always been.

  53. 53 courtney b December 10, 2009 at 1:02 PM

    As much as I cringe at the idea of having to pay a higher tuition if I attend a UC school, this state decision was probably necessary because of the condition our economy is currently under. Hopefully in a few years when we are recovered from the recession the tuition will go back down. In the mean time, this act might encourage students to work harder academically in order to receive more scholarship money.

  54. 54 Alexander Perez December 10, 2009 at 3:45 PM

    The article is very interesting in comparing Yale and Berkeley. I suppose that a tuition increase would be a good thing as long as it doesn’t impact poor students. The poorer students depend on financial aid to get by. If the tuition increases but the financial aid doesn’t, the richer students will go on just fine. Myself not being in privileged situation, I would have to see the financial aid up right along with tuition fees.

  55. 55 Broderick Nickelberry Jr. December 11, 2009 at 1:43 PM

    I Still believe tuition increase is not a good thing. I did not protest however there reason is a good one. Raising tuition could be good for the people that get financial aid a such. but what about the people that get none of that? Its just wrong making people that pay there full tuition pay more and the people that get financial aid get more money. What is that? Even if I got financial aid I would believe this but wouldn’t have a problem with it like all the other people that get it.

  56. 56 Taylor Smith December 11, 2009 at 2:02 PM

    I do not think it is a great thing to raise the cost of a UC, unless it is matched with financial aid. Which most likely it will not being that student aid is being cut too. This means that it will make it even harder to pay for a public school education, and less people will be able to attend college and graduate, in turn lowering the education level of the population.

  57. 57 Heinrick Devera December 11, 2009 at 7:31 PM

    I can understand why raising the tuition for the UC system is a good thing as far as the financial aid is concerned. What I don’t really get is the part where they’re trying to make Berkley more like Yale. I think that making college as affordable as possible is what people should be going for. I can see that raising tuition would increase people’s chances to qualify for a higher financial aid but it seems like the increase wouldn’t make a difference. The middle class would end up paying the same amount anyway. In my opinion, tuition should stay as it is for now.

  58. 58 J. Meyer December 11, 2009 at 7:54 PM

    As a student, I am 100% ok with the tuition hike. We in California have access to one of the best public university system the world. The problem is that people seem to forget that someone has to pay for it. The money the school system needs it gets largely from some combination of tuition and tax dollars, so I’m fine, as the one who benefits the most from my own education, with paying more for it if that’s what is needed to make the budget work. The money has to come from somewhere.

    The article makes good sense: it’s highly unlikely that those actually unable to pay will all of a sudden be unable to attend. As always, they will qualify for aid. Conversely, the rich will hardly even notice the increase and it seems plausible that the system will right itself in time.

  59. 59 Anthony Azevedo December 13, 2009 at 2:33 PM

    Once again, the rich stays rich while the poor man get bent over. I understand why, colleges want to increase tuition but I dont agree with it. How much does the president of the college make and want are their perks? Does anybody know, how many vice president there are and supivors under them? They need to look at pay cuts first! The teacher are the only ones that should get paid. The increase is not going to matter to a rich person but means no higher education for people like me.

  60. 60 Tiffany Molinar December 13, 2009 at 11:53 PM

    With all of the points this article made I still don’t see the raise in Tuition being a good thing. I’m what papers would call “middle class” so I can’t really get much financial aid, however I also can’t really afford to pay thousands upon thousands for my education. I’m going to school to be a teacher and I don’t plan to be a millionaire so I’m most definitely not going to be able to afford to pay back all the loans that I’m going to have to get with the raise in tuition.

  61. 61 Hayden Scott December 14, 2009 at 6:50 PM

    In theory I get what he’s saying here, thinking of financial aid as a means of price discrimination is truly illuminating. The one disadvantage I see may not be a serious problem in the aggregate but from my anecdotal observations I’ve had a roller coaster ride with financial aid. My mother has always payed for my sister’s tuition and mine but when she started making just too much money I stopped receiving any benefits, but I didn’t actually have any increase in my ability to pay and she didn’t increase to the point that she could cover the added fees, so basically now she is making more and has less to spend. I guess this is part of the squeezing of the lower middle class that they talk about.

  62. 62 Nathan Couch December 17, 2009 at 3:30 PM

    Reading this article totally changed my perception on the subject, though I had a neutral stance. The kind of ideas talked about would do great things to the colleges. Increasing the financial aid along side the tuition increase would definitely make the college more attractive to potential students and along with that attraction it would definitely increase income because not every student would get the same amount of financial aid.

    Very clever way of increasing it’s standings and student population.

  63. 63 Logan C Songer January 19, 2010 at 3:19 PM

    So, the moral of the story is, if you can afford to pay more, you should? I understand their are people/families that are unable to afford tuition and fees to certain schools, that are capable of attending these schools and being succesful. I also understand that their needs to be a way for these students who are deserving of attending schools that they can’t afford. However, I don’t feel that the students/families who can afford should have to pay so much, essentially subsidizing the education of students who can’t pay. What are students learning from this? What is our society learning from this?

  64. 64 selduhhh January 21, 2010 at 8:31 AM

    The article says that, “tuiton increases are actua;;y a good idea- as long as they’re matched with financial aid, including scholarships, for poor students.” I do believe that UC tuiton is good if this statement were true, but what I find hard to believe that students are not matched up with financial aid or scholarships. Through my experience it seems that students have to find financial aid and scholarships themselves. What if those students don’t know about financial aid nor scholarships?
    Ever since I was in high school I’ve always had a hard time finding scholarships, especially ones where I would feel confident in winning. As for financial aid, my family would never qualify. I’m sure I’m not the only student who has the same problem. While in that situation how does UC tuiton rising become a good thing?

  65. 65 Ryan Moura April 26, 2010 at 6:54 PM

    To me this is a very personal situation, because in fact my girlfriend is attending a UC and she is struggling to pay tuition along with many other fees that come with being at a prestigious university. So for me, I would say that it is unfair for the students who have been there for awhile and only seen the prices increase over the years. They started their education at one set price and are now forced to pay more and more each year. I think that the only way that this can be allowed to take place is if the tuition hike is followed with an increase in scholarships given, financial aid, and loans for all the students.

  66. 66 Colette Whitney May 18, 2010 at 3:50 PM

    I can see the logic behind this article. It makes sense that if you raise tuition it will generate more money for scholarships and loans. The more money schools have the better quality their education will be. However, if you keep raising the tuition it will make more people want those scholarships. The upper middle class that is comfortable with the tuition right now without loans will change their mind if the tuition increases. It will make a new group of students want financial aid. I would have to see more statistics about how the increase in tuition would help because I am still not fully convinced.


Leave a Reply

