Only Two Years of High School

Plan Would Let Students Start College After 10th Grade

46 Responses to “Only Two Years of High School”


  1. 1 Amanda Herrera February 17, 2010 at 11:27 AM

    Sounds like a good idea. After reading the article it reminded me about hearing about a student a year below me during my high school years who was taking the same action. However, the difference is that they did this on their own meaning it was not a program offered at my private high school.By offering this as a program to high schools it will push more students to follow this path. It will especially catch the attention of over achievers. This will also cause an increase in competition. As if the competition of getting into a college isn’t high enough right now with the increase in popularity of attending a 4 year college has increased over our generation. On the other hand the down fall of having this program is rushing students to grow up and mature faster which means not letting them enjoy their “high school years” as many people advise.

  2. 2 Michelle Benton February 17, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    Clear cut expectations for students are always going to be beneficial to the educators and the students. Just like clear cut expectations from employers are beneficial for the employee and the success of a business. I think that kind of restructure is good. It may help students see their strengths more clearly and therefore aid them in finding what interests them for a career. Economincally it makes sense too. When students enter the workforce sooner, the idea is that they are contributing to social security sooner, making more money sooner, spending more sooner. These are all contributions that they will make to the economy. Some statistics show that the population over 60 years of age are the fastest growing age range in the country. We need more young workers to pay for the older generation.

    We are already teaching to tests so having these tests be as comprehensive as college entrance tests is just actually setting the bar higher. Granted some students maturity level may not be ready for such a move but as long as there is a provision for that kind of a learner, there shouldn’t really be much problem with the transition to this kind of schooling.

  3. 3 Azusa Mori February 17, 2010 at 4:18 PM

    Considering the purpose of the program, board exams system is really effective for high school students and the society. It gives students opportunity to be able to master a certain level of skills and knowledge that is needed for college courses. So there will be less high school graduates who drop out of college because of their ability. The program makes it possible for students to be successful at college, concentrate on their major and contribute to society after graduation. Colleges might not need to have remedial courses and instead provide students with more high-quality education.

  4. 4 Logan C. Songer February 17, 2010 at 8:38 PM

    School isn’t for everyone. I love this idea. It allows people who are motivated to start working and move on with their schooling to graduate early and start working towards a degree in their field of interest. I also think Community Colleges are a great way to earn your undergraduate credits. I also think Board Exams are a great way to prove you have mastered a certain level of education.

  5. 5 Nhi Ho February 17, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    I totally support this new plan for the U.S. Education system. In high school, many of my teachers have already told us that many of us will have to take remedial classes when we get to college because we’re just not at the college level yet. I think the exam that 10th graders will have to take will not only allow the outstanding students to attend community college early, but it will also allow students to be more aware of what their academic standing is. High school is high school, many of us graduate with a diploma without having to put in that much effort. Students should be aware of how much and what they need to know to be ready for college, especially in reading and math, so the exam would be heads up for them.

  6. 6 Lorena Rodegeb February 17, 2010 at 11:04 PM

    I’m undecided on how I feel about this. In theory I think it’s great. It would encourage and challenge those who really want to learn and go to college. And possibly encourage those who just want to be done with high school! I agree that school isn’t for everyone and there are those who breeze through classes or get stuck in some that are not challenging enough. This would be great for those students. However, I can’t help but wonder how this would affect low income, high poverty areas, and areas with gang problems. How do those that do not excel in school get treated when those that do excel leave?

    Not to mention, at 10th grade kids are about 15 or 16 years old…I don’t know how comfortable I would be sending my child to college with students who possibly could be much older than them. (Yeah, over protective mom…guilty!)

    I am very interested in seeing how the trial runs of these programs go.

  7. 7 Ruby S. February 18, 2010 at 12:10 PM

    I don’t think this is the best plan, especially for California at this time. More people being put into the category of having their diploma, being eligible for more jobs will just increase the amount of people into the work force who will remain jobless just like the rest of us.

    This will also cause more students to be put into the already overcroweded junior colleges, putting a strain on students already competing for the few classes offered. College is a big work load and the teachers aren’t there to hand feed students answers or help them with homework, being an issue for someone who has only completed two years of high school.

    Another aspect would be to look at the students who would not be taking the board exams; they would feel completely inferior and behind when others would end up graduating and moving on with their life two years ahead of them. Would they still want to put forth the effort to even finish the rest of high school?

  8. 8 Tyler Oga February 19, 2010 at 9:17 AM

    I think that this is a good idea. I have already seen a handful of high school/middle school kids in my calculus 1 and 2 classes, and I would find it hard to believe that they struggle in every other aspect of academics. Certain people like them need that extra challenge that prep school just cannot provide. They would have 2 full years to prepare themselves for a 4-year university, which is a chance that I wish I had. While this may cause an even more crowded campus, these are the kinds of students that CC’s want. They are young, motivated, and anxious to learn.

  9. 9 Christopher Henderson (101) February 20, 2010 at 4:14 PM

    I think this is a good idea and will be an interesting study. It seems to be very similar to what many countries in Europe do, where the students are in and out of high school very quickly to get them on a path that puts them towards a career sooner. I think this will be beneficial to those students who do not necessarily want to go to college but would rather go into a trade school of sorts or the military (though they’d be too young I guess). But also beneficial to those wanting to get to college sooner. I’m not sure how I feel about the end exam though. If they fail they don’t get another chance until they complete another two years? I’m not sure that would work. I think that if someone were to fail, and then be told they have to try again in two years, they might just drop out. But it will be interesting to see what states are successful and if any others adopt this program after the initial success/failure reports come out.

  10. 10 Econ Consumer February 21, 2010 at 1:28 PM

    Having another option for some high students is great. I have several teenagers and they all learn different. I could see my son is bored with the same routine that high schools provide. It would be beneficial if he passed the 10th grade tests and moved towards college. I believe he would love the flexibility of choosing his classes and time of classes since he is not a morning person. Having the options to choose classes, instructors, and not attending the whole week of classes of the same subject may help change his mundane schedule.

  11. 11 Amanda Chow February 22, 2010 at 8:15 PM

    I could go both ways on this idea because it does sound good, but something doesn’t settle just right. I like the idea that a student who basically already knows what he/she wants to do in life can finish high school in two years and start their college education. But on the other hand the colleges already full. State schools and Universities are limiting their enrollment meaning the community colleges are jammed-packed with students. If the school are already full then it would just be another obstacle to put more students in the system. Not to mention the fact that the general saying is, “High school was the best part of my life” and now it is going to be cut in half. I think this idea should be thought over a little more.

  12. 12 Kaleen Scott February 22, 2010 at 9:25 PM

    The only problem with this is a lot of high schools don’t completely prepare the student for college these days. After I graduated high school in 2004, I wasn’t at all prepared for college; they didn’t require much math to start college, or english – the two most important subjects to transfer and now I’m stuck at a JC for yet another semester while trying to fulfill my math requirements that could have been done in high school. It’s a good idea, but won’t appeal to very many students unless they system of requirements to graduate increase.

  13. 13 Ruben February 22, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    This is rather interesting. While it may reduce the overcrowded population in high schools, it will certainly add to the crowd in community colleges.There is already a large amount of people and fewer resources, instructors, courses, etc. It’s not a bad idea, it’s probably just not the right time to execute this.

  14. 14 Jennifer DaRosa February 23, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    This article was very interesting. I think it would be a great idea to only have high school for two years. It would be nice to finish school sooner and start out in the real world. I wish my school had a program like this when i was in high school. On the other hand though many kids aren’t ready to leave high school at 16. They aren’t mature enough yet and may still need those extra 2 years. Also they would miss out on some of the best high school experiences like prom. I do see the academic upside of only having 2 years of high school but i think it would hurt students socially.

  15. 15 Anthony Azevedo February 24, 2010 at 10:47 PM

    I like this article, I would have loved to have the option to leaving high school early. My high school was Hogan High, Vallejo CA., you want to talk about a joke, out of like 500 senior my senior year 200 graduated from that school. It was more like a day care then high school, I transferred from Vintage High in Napa, CA my junior year because my parent where having a tough time with money and I was born and raised in Vallejo. Students did what ever they wanted, like roll blunts in class then walking outside and smoking it during class.

    Having high school short would not hurt students socially but it would raise unemployment rate. who needs clicks? More student would try to leave high school early and then fail at the next level because of the crapy teacher and no self motivation to do the work or show up to class. This would only pack college even more, and the unemployment line because the ones that fail will not return to high school.

  16. 16 Ryan Moura February 28, 2010 at 2:00 PM

    I think that this article offers up a very good idea, because some people tend to lose their interest in school during high school. I can completely understand this idea, because sometimes through high school, some students develop a lot quicker than others and lose interest in biology or history, etc. They want to start to focus on more career based studies and utilize their time to help them in these fields. I have always been a fan of this idea because by a junior in high school, students should have the choice to study what they want and see which roads they want to take for their professions in life.

  17. 17 Matt Cardoza March 1, 2010 at 1:51 PM

    High school should be more focused in a particular area anyways. By that time, 15 years old, people should have a general area of interest to pursue and should spend their time studying how to be better at something that intersts them instead of taking pointless classes such as chemistry if you plan to be a business major or theature. There should be “no required classes” to say, if people what to succeed it should be on their own terms.

  18. 18 Rachel March 2, 2010 at 9:12 AM

    I love the idea that school should only be a two year option for some. I would have taken advantage of it, because i feel that the required high school classes are just a waste of time because I will have to repeat them again in college as required classes. I could just get it out of the way and spend more time taking clases that interest me and take courses that are more interesting to me and related to my career field.

  19. 19 Lacey Olson March 4, 2010 at 8:24 PM

    I think this is a great idea. I wish there was something like this when I was in high school, especially because I earned really good grades in 9th and 10th grade, and then towards the end of my junior year I started slacking off a bit. I still got pretty good grades, I think I just started to get bored of high school and so didn’t try as hard anymore. If there were something like this that could have motivated me I think I would have gotten my degree earlier, rather that losing my momentum towards the end.

    Of course there will always be pros and cons with anything. Someone mentioned that the community colleges would be too full. But if we have these students coming straight from high school, most of them will already be ready for the upper level community classes such as calculus and chemistry. Maybe the colleges wouldn’t need to offer as many of the remedial classes and can offer more of the upper level.

    I think that one major thing is that the students going into this need to know that they are in a college environment now and will be treated like adults, period. And the professors need to adhere to this as well.

  20. 20 Anna Hernandez March 7, 2010 at 4:04 PM

    If I were in the 10th grade I would think it were a great idea but since I am a young professional and have seen how my mentality and career goals have changed, college after 10th grade is an awful idea. At 16, I thought I knew what I was doing and I thought I knew what I wanted; unfortunately, I did not and now at 24, I’m still not sure what I’m doing or what I want. I only have ideas that are different, yet more realistic, than those I had at 16.

    Academically speaking, I was ready for college but mentally, I was not. Even entering college at 18 is not a wise idea but it is better than 16. For each his own but 10th grade is too young considering the social pressures one is faced with in college. Someone who is 16 cannot sanely handle the life that comes along with college.

  21. 21 Angelina Hlavaty March 11, 2010 at 10:44 PM

    I have mixed emotions. Sure if students want to motivate themselves and graduate early cool! Yet, I do not see this leading to much sucess. High school is not only a time in our lives to slowly ease us into adulthood,but it is a time to grow up and not have to rush into starting our lives. i could never imagine being 16 and going to college. I would not have been prepared not mentally ready to buckle down and figure out what I want to do with my life.I think that if student want to take extra classes at a community college to build up credit, go for it. But I must argue that we are forced to grow up way to fast. schools have put a lot of pressure on students to know what they want to do at such a young age. In the long run, I think it does more harm than good. Student will enroll as 16 year olds in community college and goof off and not be prepared. At least im being honest and saying I would be able to have done it. We don’t need to rush into starting our lives, we have our whole lifetime to work and be unhappy so why start so young.

  22. 22 Jesus Zavala March 15, 2010 at 9:24 PM

    I think that it is a good idea. This gives students who work hard on their classes to get ahead by two full years. Although this gives students an opportunity to get into college at a younger age, it does not mean that they will all be prepared to go to college even though their test scores say the opposite. On the other hand, i sort of disagree because not every sixteen year old teen knows what they want to do in life and what their career will be.

  23. 23 kathryn koller March 16, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    This is really interesting…i don’t have a solid opinion on this proposal yet..i see areas that can be improved on… but overall i like that they are trying to change the educational system in the u.s…it’s something i have been noticing as i have left the k-12 system that doesn’t quite seem to be as effective as it may have been generations ago. One issue i have with this idea though is kids starting school at age 3! really?! is that at all necessary aren’t kids allowed to be kids for a short period in time anymore. They are already considering having 16 year olds take college courses which i think might be a good thing and that they could handle but throwing kids into that rote life of school so early seems excessive

  24. 24 Britt Rockseth March 18, 2010 at 8:09 AM

    I am not really sold on this program, I don’t feel that a 10th grader would be ready for college as in their maturity. There is a signifcant difference between a 10th grader and a 12th grader. College is much different than highschool. I feel that students need those last two years to grow and mature because they go on to college. Students are already stressed out with school, excurricular activies, work, family etc. So for those who are overachivers that would want to endure this intense program, what would it do to their stress level? I undertand that students in their freshman year of college are taking highschool level coarses but shouldn’t highschools have a standard of what a student should pass before graduating, we should think about raising this expectaion in high school and not letting students move on to college before they are ready. Your only a kid once, college come with a lot of responsiblity and maturity, I feel that this program will short kids on high school and teenage years experices.

  25. 25 Kara Yamamoto April 2, 2010 at 6:25 PM

    This article was very interesting. I think it would be a great idea to only have high school for two years. It would be nice to finish school sooner and start out in the real world. School is definitely not for everyone and there is a lot of kids out there that just drop out after the first two years anyways because they aren’t going to meet high school graduation requirements. I think if schools had a program like this it would encourage kids to actually go to school, get somewhat of an education and be able to go out and work. At the same time, it’s hard to be 16 and being out in the real world. I don’t think we are mature enough to handle the real world yet at that age and a few more years of guidance wouldn’t be a bad thing. I definitely like the option, but there are two sides that have to taken into account.

  26. 26 angel April 4, 2010 at 2:32 PM

    I don’t think it’s a good idea. Are students really wasting two years before going to college then? I think they are taking classes that will be help them to succeed at a college level. Additionally, at 16 years old some teenager don’t even know what they want to do.

  27. 27 mike April 5, 2010 at 11:41 AM

    It sounds like a great idea for those that excel in their studies. It would free up the high school teachers to have a greater impact with fewer students. I wonder how this will affect the community colleges. The other problem with getting students out earlier is the maturity level. College courses are harder and one must be up to the mental challenge and stress levels that seem to accompany higher education. Great for those that are ready, but I would be cautious as a parent pushing my child to advance if they were not at an appropriate maturity level.

  28. 28 Ryan Haley April 21, 2010 at 9:40 PM

    My girlfriends mom is a teacher. They have changed their schedule from the periods to the block schedule. The problem is that they had to change back from their better block schedule back to the period schedule because of their time requirements. There is definetly a huge problem with amount of hours and amount of classes. If someone got really good grades but didn’t take enough classes they wouldn’t pass. This is also a problem that is linked to the students that take an alternative rounte, students that don’t fit into a box. Unfortunately those kids that do alternative schools are seen has having less education. So if this new program could change the way people thought about learning, that would be an educational break through. If this plan works I would be curious to see how it plays out among the other states. This could be really exciting.

  29. 29 Karla Martinez May 1, 2010 at 3:16 PM

    This is a great idea! This new plan would allow those students who are ready to move on in a timely manner and those who are not to receive more one-on-one attention from teachers. I think this will serve as an incentive for students to be more focused and ambitious to finish high school as soon as possible. This would really relieve a burden on colleges being forced to offer remedial courses, which take the place of classes that could be offered for people to move on rather than make up for the things they didn’t learn in high school. I wish this system had been in place when I was in high school.

  30. 30 Tiffany Hagewood May 2, 2010 at 9:17 PM

    Wow, I would have loved this program when I was in high school. Being a very driven and independent student I found myself doing very well in high school, yet never wanting to attend classes. Vintage almost didn’t let me walk the stage due to absences yet I was able to pull of a 3.8 overall gpa for all years I attended. Sounds sort of ridiculous to me!

    I think that if they did offer this type of program, they should also offer some type of internship program as well. Possibly over summer or in your junior year, this internship would be of the students choice and I believe would help the student in testing out waters in their chosen career goal. Lets face it most freshmen and sophomores don’t know what they want to do with the rest of their lives, so rushing them through high school and on to college without anything guiding them in the right career direction might be a bit much. I heard there is a fashion program at University of Cincinnati that is a 5 year degree where you also have to complete 5 internships. Although the fashion industry is very experience driven some of the aspects of this program are worth thinking about, even at the high school level.

    However, I also have to agree with Angelina, most 16 year olds myself included were not ready to attend college. The maturity level just wasn’t there. Having said that look around the community colleges today, a good amount of students right out of high school don’t have the maturity level to be in college and they’re 18-19 years old.

  31. 31 Hyo Kim May 3, 2010 at 11:38 AM

    It is a great idea, actually in my country we have something similar like this, and actually I have seen 14 years old boy attending college with his older brother, wow,.
    anyway going back to economic concern, then considering those kids going into society and making money sooner, wouldn’t it be better for the economy? since there are more people spending?

  32. 32 Jessica Opperman May 3, 2010 at 4:50 PM

    This article is a difficult one there are pros and cons to only two years of high school. For some kids it would be helpful and better for them to have two years of high school and be able to move on. But then again four years of high school is what teenagers look forward to thats there time to grow and learn who they are. I think the program would be good for students who would be interested in it and could use it.

  33. 33 Melissa Moylan May 6, 2010 at 7:28 PM

    High school can be fun for some, but for others it can be extremely long and eventually makes them uninspired to attend college. By making 2 years of high school available it will allow people who are anxious to join the work world able to move through school a little faster.

  34. 34 Ana Ahnen May 8, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    this seems like a counteractive idea. Although people would leave high school (which to many is free), they would have to pay more to be in college because they are not prepared. Many students coming into college after 4 years of high school are still not prepared for college, and cutting high school down to two years would only augment these students. Aside from the educational view of it, this would allow students who are not mature to enter into a world of freedom, allowing them to make choices that are not always the smartest.

  35. 35 Floyd Aranzazu May 15, 2010 at 11:10 AM

    This idea could actually work? Well, if your a teenager who knows exactly what they want out of life, willing to work and learn independence, and/or simply get away from all the schizoids who make fun of you at school. The states who initiated such a program better come up with successful results.

  36. 36 MunchiesMan May 15, 2010 at 5:23 PM

    i totally understand the whole thought process behind this new program, but why don’t we take the money that’s going to be put into this plan and spend it on better school supplies and improve our whole education system overall. This program is a great idea, but only for a chosen few. i have seen how the education system works and i feel that with legislation put into place like no child left behind students aren’t learning material any more there learning how to take tests, the higher the test scores the more money received. If this program is implemented next year i would hope the students that are in this program are actually being taught, to help them in the future, and not just shown how to take a test to exit high school early.

  37. 37 Caitlin K May 17, 2010 at 6:11 PM

    I think that this is a good idea that can reduce remedial classes offered in college, and quicken the time it takes to get a degree. For those students who are motivated to learn quickly and earn their degree, this would be an excellent opportunity, and for those who need more time to learn subject matter, this would still allow them to do that.It seems like the curriculum would have to condense as well, to ensure that the student s are taught all that they will be asked on the exit exam, which may make it better. If we are having issues with the efficiency of our education system, we should look at the successful countries as a model, as they did to create this plan. I think that California should get on board since our test scores are less then ideal.

  38. 38 Matthew Jaber May 17, 2010 at 6:25 PM

    Only two years of highschool is not enough education to have a job to support anyone for the real world. One might get a decent low paying job, but only 2 years of education after 8th grade is not enough to stay alive in this economy.

  39. 39 Kelsey Zeller May 17, 2010 at 9:40 PM

    I have mixed feelings about this idea. I think for some people it could be great. They have to be focused and ready. College is a lot different then highschool and could be a wake up call to some. But if a student has proven themselves then i’m all for it. On the other hand there are going to be those kids who just don’t want to be in school. They get out of 10th grade and then usually do down hill from there. Those are the ones who need to stay in school and figure stuff out. Only if the student is prepared will this idea work.

  40. 40 Trella Chrisco May 18, 2010 at 7:44 AM

    i can not decide if this is a good idea or not. For one it would save many kids from wasting two years of thier life. but also i think it is too soon. The government are upping the standards. i was learining things in middle school that my parents didnt get taught until high school. When standards raise it leaves more people for the bottom.

  41. 41 Colette Whitney May 18, 2010 at 6:10 PM

    How do people like this idea!? I think this is the worst idea ever. High school is four years when teens experience new thing, mature and take different classes to see what they are good at to prepare them for college. When you are a sophomore in high school you are 15 and 16 years old. When I was 16 years old all I cared about was what episode of this Hills was on next, and when the next football game was. You learn so much not only academically but also socially. The maturity levels are not at the right point for community college and deciding what you want to do with your life. I definitely think they they should talk about college more in jr. high and high school but not take two years of it away. I think this would be a disaster and I hope it does not get passed. There is already a program where student who that want to graduate early can, so lets just keep it at that.

  42. 42 Stephanie Boyle May 18, 2010 at 7:51 PM

    There is definitely two sides to this idea. On one hand it is a neat idea and the smarter more awkward kids could get out of high school faster, but personally I think it is a bad idea. High school is necessary. I am a college student and there is a freshman here who is 17. He graduated a year early. He is definitely not ready for the college experience. College is at a different level than high school and it demands a level of maturity that 17yr olds and younger kids do not possess. Also, the more and more kids do this the more college would change and just become another high school, but it would promote even younger kids to drink. So in conclusion, some kids can already graduate early, and that is enough. I like college the way it is.

  43. 43 Ji Young Yoo (Macro) May 18, 2010 at 9:37 PM

    I agree on the idea that the current American education system needs more rigorous standard in Math & Science to compete with those educated abroad, but I don’t know if adopting a test-based system would help students in the long-term. In fact, once tests become important parts of measuring students’ academic performance, this will create an unhealthy demand for test prep materials/class. Also most students will be encouraged to memorize rather than learn for the test and colleges are likely to begin to discriminate between those who passed during the 10th grade and those who failed during their application process. In such a heterogeneous society like the US, this will increase the gap between those who are well informed and can afford to prepare early and those whose parents are more or less preoccupied with sheer survival.

  44. 44 Ciara Pedroncelli May 19, 2010 at 12:00 AM

    This is a really interesting idea. At first it seems like a great idea. Give students that are extremely motivated a chance to move ahead if they want to instead of wasting extra time but the testing also means that if a student is not ready then they will stay at least one more year. My only concern with this, is young people losing their youth way too fast. People already try to grow up too fast and this would make kids grow up even faster. Plus, just because a student is mentally ready to move on he or she might not be emotionally ready to move on. They will probably not be mature enough. I think it would be a good idea for students to stay in high school all four years.

  45. 45 Blanca Cerda May 19, 2010 at 12:53 AM

    This article is very interesting! I’m somewhat undecided about which side I would choose though. Although I do think that lowering high school to two years sounds like a good idea, I also don’t think that cutting classes that aren’t so important is good for one’s education. The purpose of high school is to prepare you for college, so if we aren’t being challenged with a lot of high school, then we are definitely not going to be ready for college.

  46. 46 Amber Davenport May 19, 2010 at 5:41 AM

    From experience, going to college at a younger age is difficult. I graduated high school at 17, and entering mainstream college life at that young of an age was difficult, I couldn’t even imagine being any younger. Although I see the purpose of these tests, I think that 10th grade (14/15 years old) is way too young to be out of high school and starting college. I think that high schools need to have vigorous classes that perhaps could transfer to colleges to give outstanding and ready students the chance to start on their college degrees early. High school is ultimately not there just for academics. High school is a social experience and teachers not only prepare students for standardized tests, but they also teach life lessons that help the teenagers grow and mature and get ready for the “real world.”


Leave a Reply

